We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Nearby Hotels
$134
$122
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

SpringHill Suites Alexandria Old Town/Southwest(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $107/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Mount Vernon/Ft. Belvoir(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$103
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$117
$105
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$97
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $166/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$140
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hilton Alexandria Old Town(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$113
$98
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
234
237
87
39
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
234
237
87
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmetro stationfree shuttleold townshuttle serviceking streetroom was cleandvd playeryogurtfirst floorhotel shuttlefree breakfastdc areapleasant stayreagan airportfew blocksair conditionerhome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
419 - 424 of 619 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've stayed at the BW Old Colony on business many times. Overall, it is clean, convenient & well run by a great staff. It is an older property, and not at all modern. But the previous owners compensated for this by making sure it was very clean, the beds were new & comfortable, the breakfast was above average, and the snacks were offered free on the honor system.

Unfortunately, the family that owned this Hotel recently sold it. The new owners are trying to cheapen it down, not understanding that there are several similar "value" hotels in close distance. First, they eliminated the free snacks. Now it seems less clean than before. And you can bet that when the beds and carpets start getting worn out they will let those go too.

Kind of sad to see a place where the previous owners understood the limitations of the property and compensated to make it a good-value niche offering. Yet the new owners don't seem to get that, so it's beginning a slow decline.

If you're looking for luxury or amenities, this is not the place for you. But if you want good value in a decent location, then it's OK. For now. We'll see, but I would guess that in a few months I won't be staying there anymore.

Room Tip: Rooms on teh East side are quieter b/c the West side faces the GW Parkway.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Yes, the hotel does have new owners but we are dedicated to maintaining a warm, inviting, and clean hotel. The hotel has the same staff members as previous. Many of the staff have been here for years and are dedicated to customer service. If your room was not up to par from previous visits I need to know so we can take care of the problem. Yes, to remove the snack kitchen was a difficult decision.
There are some renovations that are being made to the public areas to bring it up to date.
We look forward to your next visit and please make myself or a staff member aware of any situation. We want our guest to enjoy their stay with us.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

When I started staying here last fall it *was* a great deal, but no longer. As pointed out, it is older & thin walled. Since the new owners took over, the snack area was discontinued, and not even vending machines were there for weeks. The workout area is in disrepair, and last week they stopped all Internet support. Forget free (which it was) now it is non-existent. The front desk keeps saying the same thing "new owners now - they are making changes."

Too bad, in two months they have taken it from a great deal - even though it is old - to just old.

For you money, you get a room, TV and breakfast(poor). If you must cut every penny stay here. Otherwise, spend $20/night more and pick a competitor - you will be glad you did. Too bad - I had been staying here for months while traveling.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
5  Thank Kurtruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a less than great experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to give your review. Yes, the snack kitchen is no longer available. Management evaluate the cost of continuing it and it had become to costly for the property to support. However, we now have available a variety of reasonably priced sundries and snacks for hotel guest to purchase. We did have a router down with the internet which has now been replaced. The wireless internet is working great and "it is free to all of our guest." We serve a full hot breakfast 7 days a week to our guest, which is also free. Actually the construction workers will be on property this Monday to begin some renovations that will include the lobby, lower lobby and the workout area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this hotel two months ago for a three day weekend for work. I chose this hotel because of the snack kitchen, hot tub, breakfast, shuttle and pool. When I got there I learned the hot tub and pool are no longer in use and that they are no longer stocking the snack kitchen. I was extremely disappointed that the hotel no longer had these amenities because I was excited about them. On a positive note, the shuttle was very convenient and the continental breakfast was fabulous. The rooms also have thin walls, someone across the hall had a cough and I heard him coughing all night. Another thing that I found odd is that the only toiletry that came with the room other then the soap was a tiny bottle of conditioning shampoo. Overall I was disappointed because the amenities listed on the website were no longer at the hotel, but I WOULD STAY AGAIN because it was still a good value especially with the free parking. I also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wanda W, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff were very friendly & helpful......free shuttle service to DCA & Metro Station & the rooms were nice & very clean w/comfortable beds & a flat screen TV. They offer a complimentary breakfast as well, but I chose to sleep-in & skip breakfast. There is also a supermarket w/in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to the DC area!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the 1st floor, as there is no elevator, but the shuttle driver offered to take our bags up to our room on the 2nd floor. The heater worked well, as it was freezing cold outdoors. However, the walls are thin & you can hear your next door neighbors.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad that you had a positive experience during your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Best regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews