We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New ownership - now bare basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Ranked #20 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Harrisburg, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New ownership - now bare basics”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

When I started staying here last fall it *was* a great deal, but no longer. As pointed out, it is older & thin walled. Since the new owners took over, the snack area was discontinued, and not even vending machines were there for weeks. The workout area is in disrepair, and last week they stopped all Internet support. Forget free (which it was) now it is non-existent. The front desk keeps saying the same thing "new owners now - they are making changes."

Too bad, in two months they have taken it from a great deal - even though it is old - to just old.

For you money, you get a room, TV and breakfast(poor). If you must cut every penny stay here. Otherwise, spend $20/night more and pick a competitor - you will be glad you did. Too bad - I had been staying here for months while traveling.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurtruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda W, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a less than great experience at our hotel. We appreciate the time you took to give your review. Yes, the snack kitchen is no longer available. Management evaluate the cost of continuing it and it had become to costly for the property to support. However, we now have available a variety of reasonably priced sundries and snacks for hotel guest to purchase. We did have a router down with the internet which has now been replaced. The wireless internet is working great and "it is free to all of our guest." We serve a full hot breakfast 7 days a week to our guest, which is also free. Actually the construction workers will be on property this Monday to begin some renovations that will include the lobby, lower lobby and the workout area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    231
    84
    36
    20
See reviews for
229
178
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hammonton, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I booked this hotel two months ago for a three day weekend for work. I chose this hotel because of the snack kitchen, hot tub, breakfast, shuttle and pool. When I got there I learned the hot tub and pool are no longer in use and that they are no longer stocking the snack kitchen. I was extremely disappointed that the hotel no longer had these amenities because I was excited about them. On a positive note, the shuttle was very convenient and the continental breakfast was fabulous. The rooms also have thin walls, someone across the hall had a cough and I heard him coughing all night. Another thing that I found odd is that the only toiletry that came with the room other then the soap was a tiny bottle of conditioning shampoo. Overall I was disappointed because the amenities listed on the website were no longer at the hotel, but I WOULD STAY AGAIN because it was still a good value especially with the free parking. I also found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Staff were very friendly & helpful......free shuttle service to DCA & Metro Station & the rooms were nice & very clean w/comfortable beds & a flat screen TV. They offer a complimentary breakfast as well, but I chose to sleep-in & skip breakfast. There is also a supermarket w/in walking distance. Would definitely stay here again on my next trip to the DC area!!!!!!

Room Tip: Try & get a room on the 1st floor, as there is no elevator, but the shuttle driver offered to ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are glad that you had a positive experience during your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Best regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake Park, Illinois, USA
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Love Alexandria , and my littlest love lives w/in walking distance from this hideway neighborhood motel.Yummy breakfast and plenty of happy extras.Close enough to the metro to see the great sights of D.C.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank SUSAN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoldcolony, General Manager at Old Colony Inn Alexandria, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Guest,

We at the Old Colony Inn want to thank you for the review and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during the holiday season. We hope to see you again soon and please let us know if we can be of any assistance for your next travels to the DC area. We wish you a very happy new year and thank you for your business.

Best Regards,

Fadi Medawar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Convenient location, can walk to restaurants and grocery store, shuttle service to metros and Old Town, superb staff, especially the shuttle drivers. My preferred stay for business or pleasure in D.C.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
1.2 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Property: Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parking Cost $10 Per Night ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing