We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best WEstern Hotel Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best WEstern Hotel Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The staff was nice and courteous. My only complaint was that I asked for an early AM wake up call and it was not made. My phone was supposed to ring at 5:30 and it did not. Fortunately I woke up on my own to catch my early morning flight.




  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    225
    80
    34
    18
See reviews for
222
172
38
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

The rooms are average, no frills, no refrigerator in room, old fashioned heaters. We stayed 4 nights in November 2012. A shuttle was always around to take us to the Metro, which is close by, also took us to dinner. Grocery store is only two blocks away. Breakfast was fine. The snacks available in the kitchen were outstanding. It made traveling easier to have snacks ready for you from chips to granola bars to juices an, waters and sodas. I would stay again, the hotel is in good location for visitors to the area. Staff was very nice to us throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmoretine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This hotel is a decent old place. For an overnight-er, this is a good find. The room is not new but managed to be clean. There's coffee/tea maker in the room, iron and board, blow dryer, and nice channel selection on tv... but the big PLUS, and what everybody is delighted about, is the open kitchen on the second floor. It was really a good thing especially for us when we came in midnight and too tired to go out to grab a bite. The noodles was there to save the night! chips, granola bars, peanuts, coffee, juice, yogurt, ice cream and more nick knacks..for free!
Will do a short stay here again when given the chance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyks2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in November. This is a really nice hotel in a real nice part of town. Very convenient as well as it is located at the end of the George Washington Memorial Parkway. A very easy drive to Arlington National Cemetery. It is also located close to the Braddock Road Metrorail station and they have a shuttle that will drive you there and they picked us up very promptly when we returned from a day of sightseeing. Alexandria is a great town and the hotel is in the older, upscale area of town. it is close to restaurants and a grocery store and a "package store" are a short walk away. The room was large, clean, and really, the location could not be better. For the price we paid, it was a good value for Washington. The breakfast was great and the snack room one of the best I have ever experienced. What really soured me on the experience was the sort of laissez faire attitude about some of the problems we experienced. There was no heat in our room so we had to be moved the first night. I reconfirmed the change of room for the wake-up call, but it never came the next morning. It could have ruined our day, but luckily I awoke about 20 minutes after the original and we made our train to Washington. The next morning the wake-up call came at 4 rather than 5 and I had a 10 hour drive ahead of me. The coffee machine in the snack room ( fantastic snack room) did not work for the entire stay so no coffee. I would have given this hotel a higher rating except for what I perceived to be the uncaring attitude for my troubles. I appreciate there can be snags, but like anything else in life when there are negative consequences - one pays attention. Someone should have offered a discount on the stay or some extra points for all the inconveniences - that would have been good customer service - I am a top tier member of their rewards program - they should have recognized that loyalty to the brand. It was not forthcoming just an "canned" marketing type e-mail thanking us for pointing out the challenges - a very weak response for all our challenges

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NSTraveller493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great staff!! Suzanna, the desk clerk, was top notch. She and the shuttle drivers made the stay on outstanding experience. We did not have to drive anywhere. Excellent restaurants were nearby as was the Metro station into DC (round trip tickets were $6.10) and the drivers at the motel were available almost immediately and responded quickly when we called for return pick-up. The rooms were comfortable and clean, the TV was fairly new and some HD channels were available. The variety of free snacks really surprised me (sodas, chips, cookies and much more). The sauna and hot tub were not working but the other equipment in the fitness room worked fine (treadmill, elliptical machine, stair climber and weight machine).

We stayed 3 days and ate breakfast there each day. I was also surprised at the variety of food available for breakfast (scrambled eggs, hash, sausage, waffles, grits, biscuits and gravy, fresh fruit and more). The food warmers don't do a very good job, but I was satisfied with the effort.

All in all I think this was a great value.

Anyone concerned about the negative reviews should note that as of 11/18/2012 5 of the 8 poor reviews were over 4 years old. The remaining 3 were from 11 or 19 months old. I'm glad that I disregarded them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElmWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Colony during the first week of November, 2012. Room was clean, service was great, location could not be better and for the price, at great deal in the Washington area. Breakfast, snack room, shuttle and free parking combined with the friendly staff make the hotel a wonderful value. I certainly would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit the Washington area.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This motel was ideally located in a very nice area of town, only a few stops from the middle of the city by subway. The motel staff organise a shuttle to drop people at the station or the King Street restaurants, and pick up just by a simple phone call. We didn't drive at all for two days. Staff were pleasant, efficient and helpful. Accommodation was standard Best Western. Breakfast was very ordinary - usual powdered scrambled eggs, waffles, minimal everything else. King Street was just magic for eating out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieFay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing