We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Western Now Our First Choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
smithfiled
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Western Now Our First Choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

My wife and I who are in our 60's spent 2 nights here and were suprised to find they had an unsupervised snack room open 24/7 with free chilled fruit drinks, chips, pretzles, popcorn (microwave right there), hot coffee/chocolate, ice cream, power bars, peanuts and a few other items I've forgotten. An honor system sign asked guests not to abuse the privilege.
Next we found that ice for the room was in premeasured bags.
The breakfast included in the relatively inexpensive room price was self-serve but full with a variety of fresh fruit, sausage, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, several breads, cereals, drinks, a belgian waffle machine with small flasks of batter you made yourself, and one or two of the hot items changed the second day.
The number of rooms was about 60 so the place is not huge. The breakfast, exercise room, internet room, and conference room are in the basement for which an elevator can be used. A second floor is walk-up only. Our room was quiet and parking, which included 15 or so sheltered slots, seemed to be arranged so cars usually faced away from ,reducing headlights shining into ground floor rooms.
The exercise room was small, but included a TV, real steam sauna, permanent tiled hot tub, stepper, treadmill and multiple-station gym system with adjustable weights. All the equipment was in good condition and a stack of nice towels were stacked near the hot tub. I used the room twice in the evening and was alone both times.
The room was standard, smelled clean, had comfortable furnishings, clean bathroom, good water pressure and not water, central air (not a noisy window unit), with no outside noise, and provision for computer connections. The usual iron, hair dryer, coffee/tea machine and ironing board were there, too.
The inn is easy to reach from Reagan Airport, probably 20 mins away, or by car. It's about a block from a supermarket, and a short, easy drive to the interesting old part of Alexandria for shopping and restaurants.
We reserved a room here a year earlier, but recent painting of rooms forced us to cancel after checking in. The inn was very understanding and gave us a full refund.
We were very pleased with the overall quality of the place.

  • Liked — Free snacks and great breakfast
  • Disliked — A car driver could overshoot the Inn's street and find it difficult to turn around.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank virginiajim057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    230
    83
    34
    18
See reviews for
228
174
39
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed here fully in the knowledge that it is a 30 minute walk into Old Town. The route into town is well lit and felt safe; exercise is good for you! - but you could take the courtesy transport.
Hotel staff were very friendly; our room on the first floor was of a decent size, clean, tidy and quiet. The breakfast buffet was excellent, typically American, but then where are you?
The free 'help yourself' kitchen is very impressive, superbly stocked with all those snacks and drinks that you didn't realise you needed until you get back from the pub! Inevitably it will not satisfy everyone (in terms of variety) but then you could buy your own!
All in all this was a very enjoyable experience and I would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDoc400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2007

Generally a little below par for a value hotel. Recommended for families w/ kids. Pluses: clean; good water pressure & shower head; quiet (at least as quiet as Old Town can be next to National Airport's flight path--no flights between about 9PM & 6AM); courteous staff. Snack bar really is a plus (with good, brand name calorie laden snacks & sodas (a caffeine-free diet soda would be a nice add)), but not enough of a draw to bring me back. Minuses: No elevator (!); location--close to nothing, shuttle bus to points w/i 5 miles, which includes airport, Old Town, and Metro; breakfast is overrated unless instant oatmeal and a variety of white carbs is your thing--a sufficient amount of cut fruit is available, if you can make a breakfast of just that. Would rather hotel focused its budget on room quality than snacks & breakfast: rooms are uncomfortably small--felt like my wife had to stand piggyback on me if we both wanted to get into our suitcases at the same time (would work well for just one person, though). The niche for sink & mirror are poorly located across from open air closet nook--an equal opportunity nuisance: the mirror's poor lighting, plus the closet's brown shelf and the walls' key lime color means adults of any hair color will have to jump up and down just to comb hair. Decor (garish emerald & salmon comforters plus polka dot carpet and curtins; oh, and those walls!) could induce a migraine. TV is a museum reject but functions perfectly, furniture is old and poorly planned for room's space limitations (e.g., desk chair won't lower enough to get its arms under the desk, taking needless space from the entryway). Beds are no kidding the worst I've ever slept in--I would rather spend the night on a cot or friend's couch. Mattress is of poor quality and formed a valley that I kept rolling into all the first night. Spent the night with a bedspring augering into my kidney. Recall waking up wondering why the friction/drag induced by the 100% polyester (!!!) sheets wasn't enough to keep me from sliding into the mattress' valley. Location: Yes, you can walk to Old Town attractions from here, but plan your route carefully--if you don't you'll go straight through Old Town's last remaining ghetto--not fun at night, but the police are nearby.

  • Liked — Cost
  • Disliked — Room Quality
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

Conveniently located to DC Metro (though NOT walking distance, although the hotel has a free shuttle) in a town (Alexandria) with very effective local bus service--$1 fare includes the return and transfers! Very easy to be a tourist for DC attractions as well as Old Town.

Simple accommodations--no elevator--but stairs were fairly easily dealt with, even with large bags. Rooms were spacious with ample storage space. Not a top-quality mattress--and we had booked a king-size, but got a queen. The floor was described as non-smoking, and our room appeared to be so, although we could smell smoke occasionally in the corridors. Free high-speed Internet as well as cable TV. Free hot breakfast varying each morning--a good start for wandering tourists. Choice of two free papers (local/USA Today) each morning.

Unusual feature: snack/meal room on each floor with all items FREE! Many kinds of drinks including sodas, juices, waters, etc, snack items, ice cream and other sweets, and sandwiches and salads reported to be available soon. A most useful and valuable extra.

We will certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Location/snack room
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cclee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

Beautiful and convenient location, away from the madding crowds, but close to the airport, DC and Old Town Alexandria. Very helpful front desk. The snack room was a great surprise. Criticisms are few: no elevator, no ramp to roll suitcases up to the building, ran out of ice. All in all, a good experience. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location and snack room
  • Disliked — No elevator or ramps
  • Stayed September 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyd'sTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2007

All the web sites said the hotel was booked so Icontacted them directly - they were able to accomodate myself, husband and 10 year old. Without a doubt this was one of the best experiences of our 2 week trip and it was our 2nd hotel of our vacation!

They have recently opened a "kitchen" and my son thought he had died and gone to heaven! They have everything you could think of and it was free! I had to tell my son it wasn't free otherwise he would never have left it! The breakfast buffet downstairs was great each day as well. I believe waffle irons are fast becoming the breakfast buffet choice for hotels and for me that is a bonus - kids don't want cereal on vacation - they can have that at home, but waffles. WOW

The transportation to the train left a bit to be desired on the return - I believe we and another family we met at the train waited at lest 30 minutes - they told us they had to bring someone to the airport first - but didn't tell us that when we called to say our train was in. I'm glad I called before our train even made our stop but as you can see that didn't matter much for our wait. We did all the touristy things you could while in DC and loved the trolley tour and would definitely do that again and again.

  • Liked — The age of the property in old alexandria
  • Disliked — No elevator
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MomOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2007

Stayed at hotel 9/13 thru 9/15. Small hotel with 49 rooms and a separate smoking wing of at least 7 rooms. Nothing fancy here, not typical Best Western. Cozy small and very comfortable. The entire staff was pleasant and welcoming. If you are looking for 'more' in a hotel then stay at the nearby Sheraton. But if you are looking for a quiet getaway in a great nabe' close to everything then this is your place.

  • Liked — Breakfast, smallness of hotel
  • Disliked — Internet access not intuitive to set up
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Colony Inn Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Colony Inn Alexandria

Property: Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Address: 1101 N. Washington Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Old Colony Inn Alexandria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Old Colony Inn Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing