We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Southern Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We just enjoyed a four day stay at this very conveniently located hotel. The hotel staff was wonderfully friendly and helpful, the shuttle service was quick and the drivers were pleasant. The free snacks were a wonderful addition enabling us to keep our spending down by eating the free hot breakfast bar, grabbing a few snacks for our lunch break, and then later taking the shuttle into Old Town Alexandria for a lovely dinner. The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfy. We would highly recommend a stay at this well-run hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    211
    79
    30
    18
See reviews for
214
160
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
olivierij@eastgreenwich.k12.nj.us
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The staff, the shuttle, the convenience of location, the breakfast ... All great. The hotel itself is very nice from the outside and surprisingly old and in need of a facelift on the inside. The bed and bedding were great, but the room itself could have been cleaner, and the bathroom was not very nice. The price was right, and the complimentary snack bar was a great treat that made you forget about the things you didn't like about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here back in August so I am a little late in my review but I must say I loved this place! Yes, the rooms are old and it is not in D.C. but the amenities make up for it! We had to go check out the snack room the second we got in and it was everything I had read and more! Sundae cones, sodas, water, chips, cookies, coffee, etc, etc! What a treat! The breakfast was hot and decent. We had eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, yogurt, cereal, pastries...I could go on. Shawna the GM (sorry if I mispelled your name!) was excellent! Super friendly and helpful. The drivers were great too and it was really only a five minute drive to the metro station. Yes, you pass an iffy area but that is nothing new to me. Every city has them! I never felt uncomfortable and we would go out at night and walk to eat. We had wifi in our room and the bed and pillows were super comfy. I could not ask for anything more. Thank you for the great stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCLP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here as part of a business trip. First the hotel is difficult to locate.while it is on Washington Street, you have to move onto an access road to actually get to the hotel -once you know, not a problem.

Service from staff is excellent, better in some cases than I think some 5 star hotels I've stayed at.

Included buffet breakfast is passable, but not the best. Hotel offers 24-hour snacks at no charge.

The not so good: you can only access wireless Internet from the lobby, although there is a wire in the room. The rooms are is desperate need of updating, but the rooms are clean and comfortable.

If the rooms are ok with you, then this hotel is worth a try.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We recently stayed at the Old Colony for 5 nights. All around it was a great experience. The manager was excellent and went out of her way to assist us. She greeted the guests each morning at breakfast to answer any travel questions. She even helped with transportation with her car while their regular large van was in the shop. The drivers were great and the front desk was helpful. And then there is the snack room! When you ask our kids what their favorite part of DC is, they say the snack room! Hot chocolate, ice cream, popcorn. Wow!! My only tiny little complaint was no wifi in our room (only wired) but it was available in most of the common areas. A nice computer was available for guest use also. Thank you Old Colony! We will be back someday!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

From the arrival of Ronell, our van driver, to our departure, the hotel staff was fabulous. You couldn't ask for nicer people or better service. We were originally booked at another hotel, but based on the TripAdvisor reviews, we revised our reservations to stay at the Best Western Old Colony Inn. Great decision on our part! Breakfast was excellent, the snack room was an unexpected bonus, but the staff, location and shuttle service are what make the hotel a true gem. Room was well-decorated very quiet, neat and clean. Never having been to Alexandria, Va we really enjoyed the town and its proximity to the DC area without the expense and hustle and bustle. We love Washington DC and when we return, we'll definitely visit the Old Colony.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family stayed here for five nights. We can't say enough good things about this hotel. It's very close to Reagan National Airport and the major DC attractions. The free shuttle service was great. The drivers were very courteous, as was the entire staff. The shuttle will take you to the Metro, the airport, and King Street, which has a lot of unique shops and restaurants. You can walk to King Street from the hotel as well. It's a nice walk through great neighborhoods.The snack room on the second floor was great. My three kids were BIG fans of that. The free breakfast each morning really fills you up and gets you ready for the day. My whole family loved this hotel and have recommended it to friends who are planning trips to DC. It was easily the best value of any hotel I researched online. If we return to DC we WILL stay here.

Room Tip: Our corner room had extra space with a couch
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
Address: 1101 N Washington St, Alexandria, VA 22314-5352
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Old Colony Hotel Alexandria
Best Western Alexandria
Alexandria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing