We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better as a Long Term Stay then an Overnight Stay”
Review of Bragg Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bragg Towers
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Washington DC
1 review
“Better as a Long Term Stay then an Overnight Stay”
Reviewed March 13, 2007

This hotel is a great location to stay at if your staying for over 3 nights. it has its own kitchennette and dining room table. Some floors have been renovated and others have not but it is the same price for either or. The non smoking rooms are the mostly newly renovated rooms and the non smoking rooms are not all renovated yet. I have been staying here for over a month due to work and honestly i dont have any big complaints. I understand for just an overnight stay some people may not like it but its in actuallity a nice little stuidioish location for the business traveler. The area is not the best to walk around at night but you shouldnt do that anyways but has shops around the area and a grocery store and mall right up the street. the housekeeping isnt the best in the world but for long term stay it wouldnt hurt to use your own elbow grease to clean it up a ltitle.

I highly recommend it for LONG TERM STAYS NOT OVERNIGHT.

  • Liked — The kitchennette area made it so much easier.
  • Disliked — the carpet in the hallway.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cecejrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    7
    13
    17
See reviews for
10
6
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 16, 2006

The hotel looked nothing like described via internet. It really needs major updating. Still using a door key and only received one (1) key. When we opened the door to the room there was an unused smell to the room. Went out to purchase room spray to help dispell the odor. Room wasn't cleaned to our satisfaction either. Just pulled sheet up to tuck into the bed. Never put bedspread back on the beds. Did not like the idea of the manager taking photo copies of credit card and drivers license. For $89..00/night I think we could have done better someplace else.
Won't return there again.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sm12williams, Manager at Bragg Towers, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
The hotel has been updated and has electronic door locks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 1, 2006

Got bumped from a nearby Embassy Suites which had overbooked and to say I was dissapointed with this facility is an understatement. Lobby - nonexistant, noise level - high, customer service - nonexistant and the the hits just keep on coming. Stay away from this place which I have since named the "crunchy-sheet motel". I do not have even one good thing to say about it.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2006

The price was acceptable. The room was clean. The walls between rooms conducted noise pretty well. The clerk took what seemed like 4 images of my credit card, which I asked for when I checked out. The TV seemed new and furnishings were OK. Beware of doors using metal keys; if you don't throw the deadbolt, the door is not locked! Also beware if walking to hotel at night --- block before hotel isn't lighted and is somewhat isolated in a semi-industrial area. Hotel is not easy walking distance to a Metro station, but there are rush hour buses that are express buses directly to the Pentagon Metro station, which can be convenient if travelling during rush hour. Late night taxi fare from Reagon Natl Airport was $23, taxi from King Street Metro stop is about $8-10.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigan_Techie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

The hotel was okay. It was in the Latino area of Alexandria. We were only
there long enough to sleep. Didn't like it when they took my credit card after
my room was already paid for through Hotels. The hotel also copied my
driver's licenses (DL). When I asked for the copy of my DL, they wouldn't let
me have it back. I wasn't going to be there any more. They don't need it after
I leave.

Helpful?
1 Thank mrstigger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuba, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2005

This is an older building, probably a small apartment house at some time as our rooms (2) had a small fridge, microwave, sink, etc which would make each large room an efficiency appartment. Room was clean, no real problems, except for the smell of burnt food coming from the hood over the stove. A little Frebreze took care of that temporarily, but the smell eventually came back. Lady at the front desk was friendly and helpful. An older gentlement kept looking over her shoulder like he didn't trust her, and that bothered me. Parking lot was jammed full at night, so the place must have been filled. We arrived late AM, left, returned early evening, and checked out at 5:30 AM the next morning. Sign at checkin says the daily rate is $109.95, but we got it for $69.95 via internet. Sign also says payment due up front, no refunds, no exceptions. Does this need to be announced in a classy establishment? Would I stay here again? Yeah, I guess so, as we really had no problems, the beds were comfortable, and the place was clean. If there were other choices (there are but I have not investigated any of them) this probably would not be my first choice. Same trip I stayed in worse facilities elsewhere, but that's another story!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank genew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Stayed here 3 nights June 2005. Good driving location to DC, but motel is poorly maintained, staff barely speaks English, hallway carpets dirty, bathroom shower curtain hadn't been cleaned in what looked like years. Also, bring your own shampoo. With taxes, this room cost $90/night, which is a good price for DC, but you get much less than you pay for.

Helpful?
5 Thank getwhatyoupayfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Eisenhower Ave.
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bragg Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bragg Towers

Property: Bragg Towers
Address: 99 S Bragg St, Alexandria, VA 22312-2790
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bragg Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Bragg Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bragg Towers Hotel Alexandria
Bragg Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing