We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Alexandria West
Ranked #51 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We booked 4 rooms with 2 beds each (8 beds) when we got there they only had 4 beds. we couldnt find any other hotel with beds that time of night. one of the rooms was not made after the last guests. still had the dirty sheets and used condoms on the floor . Stay away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joeblow123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

My Husband and myself started new jobs in Washington, DC had not located an Apartment on our arrival, stayed at Bragg (RAGG TOWERS) Towers for 21 days was not happy paying that $428.00 per week. Had to ask for Bathroom Tissue and clean towels consistently and they only cleaned the bathroom and changed the bed linen once without asking. Our total stay there was 21 miserable days.

I would not recommend them to anyone not even for one day!!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjac1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This place is old smelling and every bad review about this place is right, the room was so small you couldnt get away from your own self. It stank of must and the toilet was dirty. The lady at the front had a bad attitude and didnt even want anyone to help me take my luggage to my room. I stayed in there 20 minutes and I was so freaked out that some strange creature was going to get me, i was getting closed in feeling and there was no way i was going to trust my life to this place and spend the night..
So i left and will never return again>>>>>

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelfandeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

i was stuck in WASHINGTON DC because of bad winter storm during 2nd week of february ..enough said ....most of the hotels were sold out and Bragg Towers was the nearest available to choose from .. i was left without option and went there ..entrance doesn't look that bad compare to rooms .so i asked the front desk clerk ...at least can i see the room first ...answer was straight no...i replied oh well then i have no option ..while making reservation i notice sign at the front desk mentioning that we don't refund room charges ....man what is that i couldn't figure it out ...i was fool that wasn't able to understand it ..it clearly tells you indirectly that rooms will not be up to your expectation so don't ask for refund....checked in to room ...man it was horrible ...dirty linens, small room , very dirty kitchen counter and utensil (i wasn't worried about t it as i haven't planned to used those but it looks disgusting )....shower curtain smelled nasty.....bed wasn't comfortable.... free wifi --just for name i was barley able to connect once or twice but wasn't able to open any website.
i was left with one option ...so if options available please don't select this one, in a such a case take this option but if you don't mind traveling little more then skip this place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARELIOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Not good for the price we paid for it. You can find other best hotel around it.. where my friends stayed.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank sreenanisanju001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotel is a good price for DC but you certainly get what you pay for. Rooms require some serious refurbishment and the adviertised kitchenette was well below the standard we expected.

The cleanliness wasn't great. Fortunatly me and my girlfriend were only using it as a base to see DC and so did very little other than use it for sleeping.

Staff do not seem intrested in you as guest and at times the level of english is questionable.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mwillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

It was the cheapest in the area. It was pretty old, but it was clean. They had washers and dryers in the basement, the washers were OK but the dryers take forever to dry your clothes. I had a somewhat hard time trying to understand the clerk and maids, due to a dialect barrier. Wireless Internet was not working properly in our room, but it was fine in the halls and in the lobby. Overall, I would recommend it for a few nights. At $625 a week, it seems high, but it is the cheapest we found in the area. It also sets off the main road so it's kind of nice to be away from the main roads. However, the 10-lane highway is right next to it. There is no pool though.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank macuser5417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
The Virginia Lodge
#41 of 54 in Alexandria
7 reviews
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#5 of 54 in Alexandria
1,508 reviews
Old Town
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
Kimpton Lorien Hotel & Spa
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Alexandrian, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Alexandria West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Alexandria West

Address: 99 S Bragg St, Alexandria, VA 22312-2790 (Formerly Bragg Towers)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range: $113 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites - Alexandria West 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Alexandria West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bragg Towers Hotel Alexandria
Bragg Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing