We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy”
Review of Bragg Towers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bragg Towers
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dingy”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We needed a place for 7 people to stay during the Rally to Restore Sanity. Basically, all we were looking for was a roof and a bathroom, and a hotel in which we could sneak several people into one room. Even with those standards, this place was pretty squalid. The "lobby" is really just a tiny entry way that requires the front desk to buzz you in, which is unsettling. It really feels like you're entering an apartment building in a really bad area. The wireless internet didn't work at all, and the building does have a smoky odor. The room didn't feel dirty, but was so dated and worn that no amount of cleaning would have made it feel good.
That being said, it was super cheap, and the lady at the front desk was quite perky. She sells cans of pop out of a mini-fridge she's got back behind the desk somewhere (I discovered this upon inquiring about vending machines.)
Since there's only one entryway that's tightly guarded, I don't recommend this place if you're looking to sneak in more people than you're allowed. We managed, but not without some nervous moments and suspicious glares from the front desk. It worked out fine for us as a place to crash and have a few drinks before setting out. Otherwise, it's a dump that I'd never bring a family to.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    7
    13
    17
See reviews for
10
6
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

We booked 4 rooms with 2 beds each (8 beds) when we got there they only had 4 beds. we couldnt find any other hotel with beds that time of night. one of the rooms was not made after the last guests. still had the dirty sheets and used condoms on the floor . Stay away.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeblow123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

My Husband and myself started new jobs in Washington, DC had not located an Apartment on our arrival, stayed at Bragg (RAGG TOWERS) Towers for 21 days was not happy paying that $428.00 per week. Had to ask for Bathroom Tissue and clean towels consistently and they only cleaned the bathroom and changed the bed linen once without asking. Our total stay there was 21 miserable days.

I would not recommend them to anyone not even for one day!!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pjac1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

This place is old smelling and every bad review about this place is right, the room was so small you couldnt get away from your own self. It stank of must and the toilet was dirty. The lady at the front had a bad attitude and didnt even want anyone to help me take my luggage to my room. I stayed in there 20 minutes and I was so freaked out that some strange creature was going to get me, i was getting closed in feeling and there was no way i was going to trust my life to this place and spend the night..
So i left and will never return again>>>>>

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelfandeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2010

i was stuck in WASHINGTON DC because of bad winter storm during 2nd week of february ..enough said ....most of the hotels were sold out and Bragg Towers was the nearest available to choose from .. i was left without option and went there ..entrance doesn't look that bad compare to rooms .so i asked the front desk clerk ...at least can i see the room first ...answer was straight no...i replied oh well then i have no option ..while making reservation i notice sign at the front desk mentioning that we don't refund room charges ....man what is that i couldn't figure it out ...i was fool that wasn't able to understand it ..it clearly tells you indirectly that rooms will not be up to your expectation so don't ask for refund....checked in to room ...man it was horrible ...dirty linens, small room , very dirty kitchen counter and utensil (i wasn't worried about t it as i haven't planned to used those but it looks disgusting )....shower curtain smelled nasty.....bed wasn't comfortable.... free wifi --just for name i was barley able to connect once or twice but wasn't able to open any website.
i was left with one option ...so if options available please don't select this one, in a such a case take this option but if you don't mind traveling little more then skip this place.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARELIOUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keasbey
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

Not good for the price we paid for it. You can find other best hotel around it.. where my friends stayed.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sreenanisanju001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

Hotel is a good price for DC but you certainly get what you pay for. Rooms require some serious refurbishment and the adviertised kitchenette was well below the standard we expected.

The cleanliness wasn't great. Fortunatly me and my girlfriend were only using it as a base to see DC and so did very little other than use it for sleeping.

Staff do not seem intrested in you as guest and at times the level of english is questionable.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Dated decor
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mwillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Washington, D.C. - Alexandria - Landmark
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Alexandria West - Landmark
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Washington, D.C. - Alexandria
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
Quality Inn Mount Vernon
#28 of 54 in Alexandria
215 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bragg Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bragg Towers

Property: Bragg Towers
Address: 99 S Bragg St, Alexandria, VA 22312-2790
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bragg Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bragg Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bragg Towers Hotel Alexandria
Bragg Hotel Alexandria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing