We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hampton, good service and GREAT Shuttle Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Average Hampton, good service and GREAT Shuttle Service”
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on St. Patricks day 2010. 20$ cab ride from DCA. Check in was quick and polite. I stayed on what my colleague who has stayed there before in the "old wing". The room was still satisfactory, however you will be dealing with a wall mounted AC/heat, old CRT tv instead of a flat panel, and older carpet, etc.

I slept well as everything was comfortable. Breakfast was actually very decent for Hampton Inn's....and I saw the lady placing fresh Krispy Kreme doughnuts out. I had to get one.

Most important for me, especially with the hotel not being in walking distance to any restaurant or shops, was the free shuttle. They were great as far as hotel shuttles go. I had little to know wait time. On a busy St. Patty's day they were easily available to drop us off and pick us up from hotel to restaurant, etc. This was something that I'm not used to enjoying from a Hampton.

I would stay there again due to the shuttle, although I may try the Hampton on King street to see how it fares with location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sw0rdf1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    340
    131
    50
    39
See reviews for
439
239
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

A little out of the way, well priced for the area. This is a typical Hampton, a little worn out, a little out of style, but was quiet, clean and the staff was absolutely wonderful. Ms. Fitzpatrick was a great source of local information.

The best feature was the shuttle to the Metro station and to the restaurants of Old Town Alexandria. We went to dine and to see the sights of DC, and never had to move our car from the hotel lot the whole trip.

This also had perhaps the biggest breakfast area of any hotel in which I've ever stayed.

Basic hotel, staff and convenient shuttle made it a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaysguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

A great place to stay. Let me name the ways... clean; convenient shuttle (to Metro, Old Town Alexandria, National Airport) never more than 10 minutes away, made it easy to get around without a car; great full breakfast (eggs, sausage, fruit, bagels, muffins, yogurt,...); gym (weight, treadmill, stair climb); take-away snack bag for day trips packed with water, fruit, muffin, breakfast bar; business center with PC workstations, Internet and free printing; wired & wireless Internet in & around hotel; affordable rates; large room (we had suite with two queen size beds and fold-out sofa); courteous, helpful staff ALL, even knew us by name. Thanks Lawana F., Glenn S. and staff for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChunkyFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

This Hampton Inn offered wireless highspeed internet in the guest rooms. Ethernet connection would require a special request. Wireless connection speeds were decent - not comparable to cable high speed internet. It's okay for checking emails and searching the web, but not for watching videos. If you need to VPN to your work's network, expect some latency but my experience was good, reliable connection that allowed me get my work done. The desk had sufficient work space - okay, but could be better, if you plan on working during your stay.

The shuttle service was on demand, 24 hours. I used the shuttle to go to Old Town for dinner, and I was dropped off and picked up at the restauarant of my choice. Pretty amazing for courtesy service!

The rooms were clean, as expected from Hamptons Inn. The bathroom has modern, up-to-date fixtures, well lit, and very clean. There is a vending machine and ice machine on each floor.

Courtesy breakfast was standard fare - cereal, toast, eggs, fresh fruit, coffee.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iaccess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
163 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

The rate was $180/night and who cares that it's not really in Old Town...especially since they will shuttle you there whenever you want to go and pick you up as well. I never waited more than 15 minutes for the shuttle driver, including the airport pickup and return. And the metro station is a short 5 minute drive from the hotel. I prefer this location to actually staying in Old Town because the price point is good and having access to the shuttle is the icing on the cake. And I can't say enough about the staff...they certainly seem to enjoy their work and it shows with pleasant personalities, smiles and helpful service. Everything about the actual physical structure is good and as I expected -- clean rooms, free internet service, hearty breakfast, inviting pool and relaxing atmosphere. For my money, there is no better place to stay..

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slowee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I have stayed at many hotels and this is the first time I am compelled to write a review. We were highly impressed. This was a very comfortable, clean, convenient hotel. The rooms were very quiet! They shuttled us to Old Town and the Metro and picked us up when we called them. We were all very impressed!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jacks3607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

I chose this hotel for my husband and I based on the Trip Advisor comments. We did not have transportation, and this hotel is not next-door to anything, but their free shuttle makes up for it. We used the shuttle every day to go to the Metro Station, to the waterfront and then to the airport when leaving. Desk staff was very accommodating. Shuttle drivers had the best of information.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djfiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing