We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Poor Customer Service”
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

As a business traveler, I expect a certain level of service, and this property did not meet this standard at all. After a flight cancellation left me in the area overnight, I quickly booked using the HHonors App. Thinking this reliable source to reserve as I've done in the past, I was offered only a smoking room, not what I have in my file, no water was offered to me And not once was I thanked for being a Diamond member. Perhaps it is the pisspoor desk clerks ( who happen to be the managers) who have kept this property to the sub par level it is. It is outdated, dirty and average at best. Not a property I will revisit on my frequent trips to the DC area for work.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
I appreciate your candid review of your recent stay at our property. I apologize for the room assignment not meeting your expectations as comfort and safety is my highest priority for our guests. While room type requests cannot be met every time, I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team. I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    340
    131
    50
    39
See reviews for
439
239
44
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent a week with our son, daughter in-law and 2 year old granddaughter. Travel to downtown was never an issue due to shuttle dropping us off at Metro station. Shuttle also took us several times to Old Town for dinner and shopping. Shuttle accommodated the stroller in back of van with no issue. If it wasn't for our short drive to Mount Vernon, we would have never moved our car the entire week.
Front desk staff were always helpful (and busy). Only having one elevator off main entrance created a wait at times. Always BIG crowds at breakfast but plenty of seating. Food variety was nice. Would go back and stay at this hotel without question.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The service was excellent. Folks at the front desk were knowledgeable about the area and places to go for shopping site-seeing, restaurants, etc. Accommodations were nice and clean. The complimentary breakfast and shuttle to metro were very convenient. The exact area it's in doest have a whole lot but you only have to go a couple of miles for lots of restaurants, nice outlet shopping, etc. Go a bit farther or take their complimentary shuttle and you can check out Old Town Alexandria. It isn't a 5 star hotel but very good for the price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2014

While located by the highway is convenient there is no where ti get out and walk/shop. You either must drive into Old Town or rely on the shuttle which while convenient was never there and ready when I was. The front desk staff were friendly but always overwhelmed with questions, phone calls and people trying to check in and out. There was only one person per shift at the desk all weekend. It was Cherry Blossom Festival week. The hotel was fully booked. One group of 200 high school kids overwhelmed the breakfast staff as well. Not a bad place if you do not care to go out and about at your whim. Clean, safe and in line with other Hampton Inns I have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The hotel makes up for being located in an area with almost no services by having a great 24 hour shuttle service. When factoring in the money you don't have to spend on cabs, the hotel's value increases. It was clean and new. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel has been updated recently - reasonable accommodations. Only issue was that one elevator out of service since Nov 2013 causing many unnecessary delays- 6 months is too long to wait for parts! Breakfast hot and cold foods - employees are able to keep up with demand

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank arnoldp618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This was a very good choice for visiting DC. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shuttle service was much better than I expected. They run shuttles to the Huntington St Metro station and also to Old Town Alexandria. I thought all of the drivers did a really good job, especially considering how busy they were due the large number of travelers in DC for the cherry blosoms. My only complaint is that there were only two working elevators. That was frustrating due the combination of a 7th floor room and a large number of guests. Aside from that I would absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing