We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Nearby Hotels
$242
$224
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$182
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$134
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$192
$176
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$238
$221
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$206
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$279
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Old Colony Inn Alexandria(Alexandria)(Great Value!)
$199
$169
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,200)
Filter reviews
1,200 results
Traveler rating
555
388
156
54
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
388
156
54
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townfree shuttleshuttle servicehuntington metro stationnational harborthe breakfast areawafflesfree breakfastoutdoor pooldc areafront desk staffyellow linehotel shuttlebreakfast staffnice stayhot breakfastbusiness center
Filter
Updating list...
869 - 874 of 1,200 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We had a very good experience in the hotel. Apart from the facilities they have a van-shuttle available to get to the Metro, airport or Old Town at any time. This was very helpful. We just left the car in the hotel and immediately we could go and visit DC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Luis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here for our first ever stay in DC! Hotel is located in convenient driving distance to both downtown Alexandria and Washingon DC. The immediate neighbourhood is not so interesting but we didn't care. Rooms are large, clean and the beds are comfortable. Amenities include microwave, fridge, coffee maker, tv and free wifi. (Fast). Complimentary breakfast is just ok. Loaded with sugar and carbs. Staff is nice and helpful.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

This hotel was clean and the service was friendly. The room was very large and the price was great! We had an adorable suite with a mini kitchen, table and chairs, couch and TV. I was thrilled with everything. I will definitely return. The breakfast was wonderful (especially the Crispy Cream donuts).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is at a very good location, although for some people the noise of the highway that is literally next door might be too much. We stayed at a room with two queen sized beds. Check-in was fast and efficient, but when we got to the room the sheer curtain was hanging off the window. Thankfully my partner was able to fix it themselves, but if I had been the only person I would have needed to get someone to fix it.

The hotel offers a free shuttle to Old Town which we were planning to take, but the queue was far too long to the front desk as there was only one guy there, on New Year's Eve! Clearly understaffed for such a busy night, so we ended up taking the car. Queuing would have probably taken ages.

Please note that this place still has renovations to be done, so there might be vending machines scattered here and there (not in service) and a bit of a paint smell in the corridors. The room we stayed in was likely renovated and had a all new furniture along with a nice big flat screen tv. Bathroom could have been a teeny tiny bit tidier, as I was greeted by dark pubes in the toilet.

Breakfast was decent and one of the better ones we both have seen in hotels, and they have a good range of choices for continental breakfast (bagels, toast, fruit salad, juices, eggs, etc). The waffles are particularly good!

Check-out was similarly quick and efficient to the check-in.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lassie-92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were staying at this hotel on Saturday, December 21. We were placed on 5th floor. My husband and I had one room and my mother-in-law had another one next door. After we came back from dinner, we started hearing loud music and strong bass while staying in our room. It didn’t stop after 9 pm. My husband and I went to 4th floor (one floor down) and 6th floor to check if the music was from there but it wasn’t. Then we went down to each floor and finally found the music was actually coming from the ground floor in a large room. There was a party there.
We talked to the guy at the front desk, he told us that those people signed contract with the hotel. There was no noise level limit in the contract, so the hotel could do nothing. The only thing they could do was to move us to another room further down the floor. The private security standing nearby went to the party and they told him the music was turned down a little bit. But we didn’t hear any difference.
We told my mother-in-law about the moving news, but she said she didn’t want to move because she was ready for bed. So my husband and I packed everything, moved and unpacked. We could have slept an hour earlier if we didn’t have to move the room. We had to get up early the next morning because there was weather forecast about thunderstorms down the road starting midday.
The second day, my mother-in-law told us that she could not go to sleep until midnight because of that noise. We also asked a couple during breakfast time about their experience. They told us that they also had the same problem and were close to complain. They stayed on 6th floor.
The fact that there was no limit on noise level in their contract, the hotel put their financial interest above the well-being of the hotel guests who had to sleep there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helen Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

We’re very sorry for the noise issue you encountered during your stay at our hotel. Your comfort and safety is our number one concern, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. Your review will help us correct similar issues in the future and we hope that the next time you’re in the area, you’ll consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews