We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great DC Area hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, United States
1 review
“Great DC Area hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is located south of DC, across from the national harbor and along the river. It is reasonablely priced. Near affordable places to eat. Short drive to Mount Vernon. Very nice staff. They have a shuttle which will get you to the Metro system so you can get to anywhere in the city. The Breakfast is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    294
    111
    39
    33
See reviews for
369
191
37
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The reasons why I am rating this hotel 4 out of 5 include: shuttle service between the hotel and Reagan National Airport, Old Town, and the Huntington Metro Station; breakfast (in house and to go); clean room; microwave; and refrigerator; and quiet. There is no restaurant at this location, but there is a variety of delivery options. The reasons why I am not rating this hotel 5 out of 5 include: our room was not made up when we returned at 4:30 p.m. on our second day (Sunday) so we had to wait for 30 minutes (not good); nothing was done about an issue with the shower rod/curtain that we reported; and we did not receive our 4:30 a.m. wake-up call, even though the front desk staff showed us where it had been written down. Luckily our backup alarms worked so we didn't miss our early flight. The manager was a bit intense. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank k L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
252 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's hard to call a hotel that costs just under $200 a night with taxes a budget hotel, but this one is in the environment in which it is located. And, it's worth every penny. Great service, tasty cookies at night, and a better-than-average breakfast in the mornings. We were there during the U.S. House of Representatives shutdown of the government, and I particularly appreciated the hotel's listing of what was open (and advice on how to get there). The shuttle to National Airport, Old Town Alexandria, and to the Huntington METRO station was helpful. I've been fond of Hampton Inn as a brand for years, and this one did not disappoint. Only downside is that timewise it's a long drive into the District, despite the short distance in actual miles. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: The higher the better ... No room service (I touched the button and it won't let me erase it.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playaman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I recently stayed here as a chaperon for an athletic trip. We had a bad experience nearby on this trip last year AT A DIFFERENT HOTEL, and I was apprehensive about booking a room this year.
WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN! The group sales department was nice to work with. They had our keys arranged for us, and it was probably the fastest check-in I've ever experienced. It has easy access and shuttle service to Alexandria without paying the "right-there" price. We went for a Redskins game, and while the hotel was almost full - it was very quiet. No road noise, yet 2 second access to the interstate. It was a great breakfast. We needed rehearsal space (last minute request) and they easily accommodated us.
Stay here for any DC visit!

Room Tip: While we didn't experience a "front room" I would advise asking for one in the back to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaM41_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I am usually quite happy with Hampton inn suites and this was no different. The location is good for the Washington area and quick access to motorways etc. About 5 minutes by shuttle to Old Town Alexandria which I can highly recommend.

Rooms are big with a small kitchenette type facilities if you need them and a good office space with reliable Internet. Breakfast has some cold and hot choices and for me it was fine for 4 days.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Other than the remodeling that was being finished this hotel was a great experience. My wife and I travel quite a bit and the staff at this Hampton ranks in the top 3 of any hotel we have stayed at. The front desk staff was awesome and treated us with the utmost respect. We are actually treated like "customers" - something that seems lost in today's world. To compare this - after being at this hotel for three days of vacation we moved to the Washington Court hotel for a conference. We would have GLADLY gone back to the Hampton, the difference in customer service was light years apart even though the WC was priced at twice as much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This Hampton Inn is a great choice for people like me who are visiting Washington DC but don't want to spend a ton of money on a hotel. This hotel was very clean, the staff was excellent, the room was clean and well-maintained, and the breakfast was excellent. The only negative was that the A/C unit was very loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bisham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing