We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Convenient for non-drivers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Very Convenient for non-drivers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is nice. It is clean and the staff are friendly but I don't think the website mentions that they pick up and drop people off not only from the Airport but they will pick up and drop off at the subway which makes sightseeing very easy for those who do not drive. This is a free service. I did not stay at the hotel but was there for a convention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chizuka2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    307
    113
    43
    35
See reviews for
381
210
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

The reception and eating areas are very well designed and comfortable. The numerous bugs in the bathroom were inexcusable for a hotel of this name. Also one of the staff was very unprofessional and I wouldn't recommend anyone work with her.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Kolleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Kolleen,

I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had during your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that the health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and we work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We have reviewed your comments with our staff and have addressed the situation appropriately. We know our guests deserve the best in service and accommodations and hope you will give us another chance to impress should you return to our area in the future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Grove, MO
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a lovely week-long stay at this Hampton Inn while vacationing in DC. Our room was very nice, maybe just a tad smaller than others we've stayed in, but it was well furnished, clean and nice in-room amenities (fridge, microwave, bar sink, etc.) And the view from our top floor window was beautiful. The way the rooms are arranged, the bathroom and closet is between the bedroom and the hallway, so we heard very little hallway noise. Staff was courteous and helpful. Area felt safe. As with most Hampton Inns, the breakfast was great and a wonderful convenience. Though we took our food back to our room every morning, the eating area was nicest I've ever seen - very spacious and beautifully decorated. The complimentary shuttle to the Metro station, Old Town Alexandria and Reagan airport gave us the option of purchasing unlimited week-long Metro cards instead of renting a car, which worked fine for the two of us. Sure, we had to wait a bit here and there, but we weren't on a tight schedule and the weather was gorgeous, so not an issue for us. My only complaints (for lack of a better word): the room rates almost doubled during the week - standard practice in the DC area; and the prices in their snack shop were exorbitant, but there was no where else close to purchase anything, so pricey snacks it was. Oh, and those ridiculous Hampton Inn half-size pillows - personal peeve - pitiful little things. Really, the only serious drawback to this hotel is location, and that's because we didn't have a car. It's located on a busy thorough-fare (though we were on the backside of the hotel, so we didn't hear road noise) and there is nothing within walking distance except houses, offices and a buffet restaurant which was, um, edible. (I'll be nice. Let's just say, we didn't return a second time.) But, like I said, the shuttle can take you to Old Town and there are tons of restaurants there. (You can then grab the free Old Town trolley to get around, which was great!) Would we return to this hotel? With a car - absolutely. Without a car - probably, since we know the situation. We enjoyed it here and even with the room rate increase, it was still the best value for our vacation...and I researched a LOT before booking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel, preferably top floor. You'll be overlooking trees, a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nettermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Very quiet, great room and the breakfast was good as well. Glad they open it up for military families with pets moving out of the NCR - would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights in September at this Hampton as part of our very first visit to DC. I was attracted to the location (close to Old Towne Alexandria), a reasonable price, and favorable reviews. We liked that the rooms had microwaves and refrigerators and the rooms were clean and modern. We were on the sixth floor facing the front and we were never bothered with noise. The breakfast is free and very generous (I am a waffle fan) with lots of variety. It is one of the few hotels that has plenty of space for the customers eating the breakfast. There was plenty of room to eat and plenty of choices for the food (cereal, waffles, fruit, eggs, etc.). The traffic is bad so taking the Metro is the best way to go. We had great success with the free Hampton shuttle to the Metro (only 5 minutes away). Overall, the hotel is a clean, reasonably priced alternative to the expensive hotels in downtown DC. No reason to look elsewhere unless you want to walk from your hotel right to the DC attractions, which would be much more expensive especially with a downtown hotel parking fee.

Room Tip: I requested a No Smoking Room. Otherwise, all the rooms should be OK.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToledoMrD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

on the up side: very convenient location, easy access, plenty of free parking, friendly desk staff, friendly other staff, easy checkin, rooms reasonably clean.
on the down side, they've cut corners on housekeeping and maintenance and are in need of a facelift. 2 of the 3 elevators were not working when we arrived but they were working by the next day. in the room, a bulb was missing, the shower stall needed replacement (cracked, messily patched ceiling, sagging shower curtain) and the lower edge of the sink stand looked as if it had had a rough life. still, everything worked except two of the elevators and one lamp and things were reasonably clean..
note: they have no restaurant but do serve a mediocre free breakfast.
there were no newspapers available.
we've not tried room service and doubt they have it, they are not within walking distance of anything but there are a large shopping center and many other restaurants and stores within an easy 1 or 2 mile drive

the price was right,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joebobbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very modern, had plenty of power outlets that were easy to get to (on the nightstand, on the desk lamp) for charging our electronics. They also had USB charging ports in the room. The TV channels were REALLY HD. (I don't think I've ever been to a hotel where the TV channel looked crisp and clear before!) Loved having a microwave and refrigerator in the room. The air conditioner in our room wasn't working too well, but we were told they were being replaced next week. The continental breakfast was really good, lots of choices and a nice big room for everyone to eat.... it never felt too crowded. When we arrived, we were greeted by Hilda who was super-nice and super-friendly. The hotel provides a free shuttle to and from nearby destinations! Overall, a great trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianb1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing