We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Generally good, some things need improvement” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, United States
1 review
“Generally good, some things need improvement”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have stayed here several times on business trips. It's handy to DC and Virginia destinations. The 24 hr free shuttle is a nice touch, especially for dining in Old Town Alexandria. In general the staff is helpful. This trip I was seriously disappointed in the decline in the breakfast area. Rooms are large and clean. Beds and pillows comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    307
    113
    43
    35
See reviews for
381
210
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We chose this hotel as we were planning a family trip to DC and the hotel prices in DC are crazy. This hotel was a good value for us because it was close to a metro stop and had free breakfast. Also, our kids enjoyed the pool at the hotel. No beautiful views as the hotel is right off the freeway, but we didn't mind because we were gone all day. When we first checked in, the room we were assigned had an odd smell, but when I went down to request a room change, they moved us immediately and our new room was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights recently while visiting DC. The value is great on the weekends, but on weeknights the rate spikes up quite a bit. Unfortunately this seems to be the norm for the DC area. The room was clean, except for some stickiness on the tray they leave on the bed for you. The bathroom was nice. The breakfast area was larger than most hotels I've been to; we were able to find seats each morning even though Sunday was VERY crowded. The attendant was working hard but seemed to have some trouble keeping up with wiping the tables; she could've used a helper that morning. Food was good except the eggs are a little strange. But lots of nice other options like oatmeal, fresh fruit, waffles, etc. They changed it up a bit each morning so you could have a little variety.

The shuttles are great. We used them to go to Old Town Alexandria to get some dinner and to go to the metro station. Very short wait every time except once, when I think they may have forgotten about us and we had to call twice for them to come get us. But overall they are prompt and friendly. Alexandria was nice but very crowded. As someone already noted, the restaurants on the main street are all pretty expensive.

The pool was ok, the water was too cold for my husband and myself but the kids enjoyed it. One time we went it was over run with students from a trip, but there is a life guard there who tried to keep them in check. The other time we used it it was nice and quiet.

One more positive I want to note....the first night the people across the hall were being pretty loud, slamming their door over and over and going back and forth to another room. A little while later a security officer from the hotel came and spoke to them and it was nice and quiet after that. I was glad to see they promptly try to take care of issues like that.

Overall it was a decent stay, although next time we might try finding something a little closer to a metro station so we don't have to rely on shuttles. But it was a nice service when needed.

Room Tip: If you are staying on a weekend, you might want to ask for a room away from the conference/event roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsay21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at this hotel while visiting Old Town. Glad we did. Checked in Friday afternoon, very quick. They did have 2 people checking us in so went very fast. Very pleasant front desk staff.
Chose a Golf View room. The main reason for this was we knew it was the side of the building that did not face the highway. Was only a small view through on opening in the trees but not a concern. Stayed on highway side last time and while it was not as quiet, it in no way kept us up at night.

Rooms and bathrooms very clean as always for Hampton.
Wanted to get a shuttle to Old Town and only had to wait 5 minutes while they took someone to a nearby Metro Stop. It dropped us off in the middle of King St. Later when we called to get picked up, they picked us up within 15 minutes. Could not ask for more.

While I no longer eat breakfast served at Hampton Inn, I do check it out every stay and it did seem like a good selection and was always kept very fresh.

Overall a very good property, a short distance from the action and well worth it.

Pros:
Very clean hotel.
Very friendly staff.
Good breakfast.
Very attentive to guests needs.

Cons:
Really cannot write anything here.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice. Rooms in the front (highway) are not noisy. Do not pay extra for golf vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, Id
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here but future travelers should be aware of a few things. The value of the room is a reflection of the fact that you are not close to DC. Actually you are close to the freeway ( which was not disturbing). The hotel provides a shuttle and they are more than willing to shuttle you to the metro stops, old town or to the airport. Be warned that during busy times you will have to wait and sometimes they only have one or two vans going to these places. The staff were friendly and tried to be accommodating to get everyone where they needed to be. You should allow at least 45 minutes to get to DC by metro. The hotel serves a nice hot breakfast. We steered clear of the powdered hotel eggs and enjoyed some of the healthy options, including delicious oatmeal and the not so healthy Krispy Kreme doughnuts. Breakfast was always plentiful and they had "to go" breakfast bags that you could grab on your way out.

The housekeeping was fine, several times we returned to our room at 4 or 5 only to find that our room had not been cleaned or that they were just cleaning it. I can't rave about the housekeeping because it could have been better but I think that it must be a problem of short staffing or training, the rooms were cleaned but often not as well as i have experienced in other hotels. To their credit, they were quick with extra towels and pillows when asked. We stayed in one of the new suites and it was roomy and had a Mini fridge and microwave. The room has an additional sink in the kitchen area which was convenient.

Several local places deliver to the hotel but for most nights you will enjoy dinner in old town. The restaurants are good and you can expect to spend 75-125 dollars a night for a family of 4. The food was expensive at all establishments but the front desk had several coupons that you could use to ease the pocket impact.

The pool was nice and they had a lifeguard on duty every time that we were there.

They have an on site coin laundry room in case you want to wash out some clothes. Be warned, there is only one washer and dryer.

Overall it was a nice stay, the only drawback was the 30-45 minute commute to and from the sites. I don't know that I would stay at this property again to visit DC but it would be a good property for a business meeting or small convention. I noticed many large tour groups with their own buses. So, if you are bringing 100 middle school kids to the area, this hotel can accommodate. ;-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here 9 nights to visit all the tourist things in DC. Wished we were right at the metro, but they made it so easy to get a quick shuttle van ride to the Huntington stop, that it was really no big deal. Very nice, clean, updated room, which they cleaned well every day. Morning breakfast good, though we got a little tired of the same thing after 9 days, but it worked well for our family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Greg V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Demotte, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in May 2013 with a school group....all was very smooth, check-in, breakfast, rooms all on the same floor and so forth. While there were 2 other groups staying as well you would not have know it. Clean rooms, hallways, elevator, eating area. Hats off to the ladies in the breakfast area food at times get low but never ran out. Already have my group booked for next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing