We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Alexandria South”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Linden, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hampton Alexandria South”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Although you are a mile from the Metro and farther from King St. the shuttle service is not all that bad. You will have at least a 15 minute wait after calling the Hotel to pick you up at the Metro Station. The Hotel itself is good in size versus the Hamton on King St. and the breakfast area is large in size. There is also no charge for parking versus the Hampton on King St.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    343
    136
    51
    39
See reviews for
449
243
44
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is super convenient for people driving in DC. Free parking and free shuttle to the metro are big pluses. The hotel is QUIET. Even through it is right on two major roads, you do not hear any of that noise inside the hotel. It is usual totally quiet in the rooms. Great place to stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bruce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was attending a convention at the Gaylord but couldn't book the first night as the Gaylord was full. Other hotels in the area were either way over my budget ($400 with taxes - ouch!) or cheap but poorly reviewed. The Hampton Inn Alexandria old town was a compromise, mid priced next to other well rated hotels ($200) but not an easy walk to the Gaylord. However, the Hampton Inn had a free airport shuttle, which was great. The hotel itself was very clean, very well maintained, and the staff were very pleasant. I didn't make it down to breakfast so can't comment on that. The room itself was very nice, with a fridge and microwave. It compared quite favorably with the Gaylord, where I am now. When I was ready to go, the front desk called a taxi for me, and it was a quick $10 drive to the Gaylord. I highly recommend this Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKM_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a coupon that brought price for a night down to 89 USD. Nothing to reproach- service good, rooms well equipped, comfortable and quiet night's sleep. Breakfast was a tad bland, though the selection was reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f200918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2013

First visit to Washington and was concerned about staying in Alexandria and having to rely on shuttle services. Hampton Inns are my favorite place to stay and this motel more than confirmed my choice. Fast and friendly checkin and checkout service. Shuttle service to and from the Metro and Old Town was convenient and timely. Breakfast provided many options, food was hot and tasty. First class experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Harvey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincincinnati, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently located. Clean rooms. Nice breakfast area and delicious fruit served at breakfast when I stayed there in November of last year and recently in April 2013. Very helpful staff. We were given shuttle rides to Alexandria and the staff answered all of our questions. Safe area. Great experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

It is a very nice property, i enjoyed my stay here. I stayed for 2 nights and everything was great. Front desk - friendly and helpful, breakfast ladies- they were on top of everything both mornings! My room was clean, i was even able to check in early at 11am which was great!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalina_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing