We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hampton Inn Alexandria” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Alexandria”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel is extremely convenient to the interstates and close to Reagan airport. The rooms were comfortable but the pillows were softer than what I like (minor detail). A few casual restaurants close by, but only one buffet type place within walking distance. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    307
    113
    43
    35
See reviews for
381
210
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The hotel staff was amazing, they let me check in early, and check out late .They were very kind and helpful at all times. Breakfast and good quality internet connection are complementary.
The location is not near any town center, however on-demand shuttle rides to old town Alexandria, and to the metro station completely cancel this drawback. There's also an airport shuttle.

The real drawback was very bad smell in the hallway. I was in the 7th floor, and although I was in a smoke-free room, and the room smelled fine, every time I entered or left the room I had to go through a hallway that stinked of cigarettes.
This is a shame, as it left a bit of bad taste from an otherwise excellent stay.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room in a floor that has no smoking rooms at all, maybe the hallway will not sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tbark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review on your recent stay with us. I have passed along your comments to our housekeeping staff in order to correct this issue. Please visit with us again when your travels bring you back to the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
118 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a typical Hampton Inn. Good clean rooms, free breakfast with a large seating area, and very easy to get to as its right off the highway. Nothing fancy here though. I travel to Andrews AFB often and like staying in Old Towne Alexandria. While this is not in downtown Old Town, its probably the quickest and easiest hotel to Andrews, and the only one that was available at the per diem rate for my stay. (besides cheap motels) They do have a shuttle van to take you all around the area. Rooms were typical and had thin walls and noisey bathrooms next door- but almost all hotels are the same. My favorite part is its right on a running/biking trail. I was able to walk 20 ft from the front door get on the paved trail and ran to Jones Pointe Park where I could run on the river bottoms. These paved trails line some of the roads and you could probably run numerous different places. Not a lot to do within walking distance, but a lot to do within a 5 minute drive or shuttle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truprunbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We appreciate you comments on your stay with us and thank you for staying with us when your business brings you to our area. The walking/running trail is a nice way to stay on your fitness routine and getting fresh air. Looking forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here while heading out on vacation and could not have had a better stay, so we stayed on the way back. Our second visit was a bummer (room 2225 in case you get it): our first room had not been cleaned from previous guest, our second room still had dirty sheets on the sofa bed, the bathroom door did not fully close, the sink drain didn't properly function, and there were ants on the floor. Our first stay was excellent, our second was pretty poor...overall blend: average.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences. We appreciate your honest feedback and kind words regarding our property. However, we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you and your family encountered during your 2nd trip with us. Our team has been addressed in regards to your review and the necessary actions have been taken. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here last weekend for two nights to see the cherry blossoms and other sights around Washington D.C. We drove here and parked the car and didn't have to use it again until we left for home. Check-in was easy and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. They gave us maps of the area and the Metro, and told us about their 24/7 shuttle service to the Huntington metro stop, Old Town Alexandria, and the airport. We had a king size room on the 7th floor with a golf course view. The room was a good size and had a small fridge and microwave, comfortable bed, closet space to hang clothes and keep your suitcase, and a nice size bathroom with plenty of counter space and towels. The hotel also offers a free breakfast which has many hot and cold choices, and a very large area with seating for many guests. We used the shuttle to Old Town and the Metro and never had to wait more than five minutes to be picked up or dropped off. The shuttle drivers were very friendly and helpful if you needed local information. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the Washington D.C. area because of all the amenities it offers, and the helpful, friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bongo330Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your nice comments on your recent stay. I will pass them along to our staff members so they know their good service is noticed. Please visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk,MA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Just got back from a three night stay here. We booked this hotel the night before departing for DC during this busy April Vacation period, and we were surprised to get a very very cheap rate. The shining aspect to this hotel was clearly its value: you get free parking, internet, breakfast, parking, and shuttle all for one cheap rate. These are all things that the more expensive hotels in DC lack. The hotel was also immaculate. The housekeepers cleaned every portion of our room from top to bottom, refilling everything from tissues to the sheath in the ice bucket. My only complaint about anything at all is that while the halls, lobby, and bathrooms seem relatively new, the carpeting in the room seemed a little worn and dated; but overall not a really big issue. The breakfast was all that was needed and never too crowded (even during this busy week). The staff at this hotel absolutely bends over backwards for their guests as well. They provide two shuttles, one to Old Town Alexandria (about a 5 minute ride) and one to the Huntington Metro Station (about a 3-5 minute ride pending traffic lights), and they take you and come pick you up whenever you are ready versus sticking to a strict schedule. People may think that the location is a bit too far from the city, but it is not. With the shuttle, this hotel turns into a quiet retreat near the city. Overall, not only would I come back to this hotel but this hotel showed me that staying in Alexandria is the best way to see DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Redsox3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the nice comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I will share your comments with our staff to let them know they are doing a good job. Please visit with us again when your travels bring you to Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

best location to see all the DC and Northern VA..easy access to route 495, 395, George Washington Parkway and hwy 1 south, and Potomac river. Good service and nice rooms. Get the new wing with 1000 to 7000 numbers, the old wing can be well worn.

Room Tip: rooms on the Potomac side are best and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment on your stay at our hotel. We appreciate our guest's feedback so we can improve your experience. Come back and visit with us when you get a change.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing