We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great place to stay at in Alexandria, Va” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #11 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place to stay at in Alexandria, Va”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Needed a place to stay while traveling back home to NJ. Arrived late and was greeted promptly and checked in quickly. Room very nice and clean with two double beds and big bathroom. Free Wi-Fi. Stay included hot breakfast in a very large comfortable dining area, although crowded, it didn't seem it. Great assortment of food, fresh fruit, cereal, oatmeal, bagels and toast, eggs and sausage, waffles and cold and hot beverages plus more!

Did not use pool or do any local attractions since goal was to get back on the road in the AM. Quick and easy access to and from I - 95. Plus, breakfast bags to go during the work week!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laney5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am glad your stayed with us on your way home to New Jersey. We are very convenient from I95 and also have free parking is a plus. I hope you plan on returning to the area and staying longer. There are so many things to do in the area and our shuttle can make it easy to get around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    307
    113
    43
    35
See reviews for
381
210
38
180
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Nj
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Had a nice weekend stay here with my wife and daughter. The location is right by the major highways off of Route #1 and only a fifteen minute drive from D.C. if the traffic is light. The room was clean and there was no complaint from our daughter regarding the condition of the pull out bed. Lots of convenient & typical dining options minutes down Rt. 1 and the free breakfast buffet was a nice little perk for the inexpensive room charge. They also had free parking and free wifi which in D.C and the surrounding area is not available very much. The only very minor drawback was the position of the T.V made it hard for everyone to watch while in bed, it does swivel but it is mounted too far forward on the stand. Would come back the next time I visit D.C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

My boys and I stayed here this past weekend for a Washington DC trip. The hotel was very clean and the staff was great. The shuttle was awesome and it ran 24 hours a day all we had to do was tell them we need the shuttle and they were ready, upon pick up at the metro station, they gave us their business card and just asked us to call when we arrived back at the station and they would go and get us. This saved LOTS of money since parking in DC is very expensive! The buffet was great and FREE which was a bonus. The beds were very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this Hotel for a week from 6 August 2012 and had a great time. It is really well situated for the Reagan Airport as well as the Metro for DC.Not to mention Alexandria Old town center. The hotel has a free shuttle to all of these also.
The rooms were clean and looked nice the staff were friendly (all of them) and nothing seemed too much trouble for them to make your stay nice. Breakfast was very nice - every morning.
Facilities such as the pool and gym as well as the computers and wi-fi were very convenient.
Although right next to a busy main road we were not troubled by traffic noise at all (our room was on the road side of the building too.). proximity to Old Town Alexandria was a wonderful and un-expected pleasure as this place has an amazing "vibe" with many really nice restaurants to choose from (many with live entertainment) in all price ranges. It gets better - the FREE hotel shuttle will drop you off and collect you from a central point there - just takes a phone call. Or if you prefer or want to go there straight out of the city, there is a free city trolly car running the length of Kings Street from the Metro station to the river.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed here while on a trip to Washington, DC for 7 nights. It is convenient to D.C, and very affordable compared to all the other hotels in the D.C area. We booked a studio room and it was very spacious, and very clean! The hotel provides FREE 24 HOUR shuttle to the nearest metro station (upon request), airport (every hour), and to Old Town Alexandria (upon request), FREE parking, FREE breakfast and FREE wi-fi. It is located right off the freeway, and they have plenty of handicap parking which is another plus! The only issues we had is our bathroom was a walk-in shower and the floor was not level so every time you take a shower the water would drain outside the doorway onto the carpet in the hotel room, it was pretty minor but very irritating. The other issue is there are 2 steps you have to walk up to get into the hotel, well once you walk up the steps you enter the lobby through automatic doors, but for disabled people you use a ramp located beside the steps, but there is no automatic door. You actually have to open the door by yourself. So it makes no sense to have an automatic door for the non-disabled and a regular door for the disabled. So for that reason I gave them an overall rating of 4 instead of 5.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for all the nice comments on your stay at our hotel. We strive to make all of our guests happy and comfortable and feedback from our guests helps us in working towards our goals. I will forward your comments to the rest of the staff and upper management. Please stay with us again when returning to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

With free parking, free breakfast (which was great), quick, friendly and free shuttle service, and a WONDERFUL, well-equipped room, my husband and I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. It was totally worth staying off the main strip. The staff was kind and helpful and the hotel, in general, was nice and clean. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Your comments will be passed along to the team members to let them know they are doing a good job. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Absolutely unacceptable service and no effort to resolve my problem by front desk staff or manager since their occupancy is so high. If it wasn't so late I would be gone. Don't stay here as you will realize the amenities won't be available when you want them. Terrible location mixed in with freeways all around, hardly the true Old Town Alexandria experience I thought I booked on Priceline.com. This hotel manager claims to not be a Hampton Inn although the names says it is Hampton inn and suites old town. This is not Old Town Alexandria not even close to the real old town where shopping and dining are next door. Very confusing exits to even get near the place and more than likely you'll get an extra 20 minutes of driving to find it even with a computer. Other guests checking in said the same or worse of finding this place. When a hotel doesn't care about us as guests then I'll rate them as crappy. The breakfast better be great. Note the pool doesn't open til 2 pm as their life guard does show up til then. A lot of good that does anyone who did DC all day or might want to swim in the morning.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Baberuth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments on the hotel. The actual name of the hotel in the Hilton Directory is Hampton Inn Alexandria Old Town Area South. Due to the restriction on the number of characters that Priceline has on the listing of the name of the hotels, the Area South words were missing. We are currently in the process of working with Priceline to add that. However, we are 1 1/2 miles away from the center of Old Town and we provide 24 hour free shuttle service. We do not want any guests mislead on where we are located and want all of our guests to enjoy their stay with us. The pool opens at 2:00pm - 10:00pm Monday through Friday and 10:00am - 10:00pm on Saturdays and Sundays. We have found that most of our guests are out of the building in the mornings and returning in the late afternoons during the weekdays which is why the pool opens at 2:00pm. I hope you will consider our hotel on any future trips you have through the Alexandria area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing