We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Service, Clean and Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Eagleville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service, Clean and Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Visiting Washington DC and wanted something that was nice, but not as expensive as DC. This was a perfect location to many sites and had great service, large clean rooms and very relaxing environment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSteeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    279
    107
    37
    29
See reviews for
333
184
37
164
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our family of four stayed here for a week in August of 2011. Compared to the pricing of other hotels in this area, this is a great value for your dollar! 24 / 7 shuttle was very nice. Once we parked our car, there was no need for it until we checked out. Breakfast bar was well stocked. We recommend this hotel and would stay at this Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments and will pass them along to the entire staff. When traveling this way again, please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This hotel is clean and has all basic amenities, They have an outdoor pool, and include breakfast.
We hafve stayed here twice and have had a very pleasant stay each time. It s not fancy but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VBCinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate the feeback and will pass your comments along to the entire staff. Please find us and "Like" us on Facebook to get "Friends" only deals. I hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great hotel. Clean comfortable. The had switched out flat screen TV while we were there.
The staff was friendly and very helpful. Breakfast was always great. We never had to wait more than 10 min. for the shuttle which took us to the metro and Old Town. Very convenient
would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pathfinderwavohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. It looks like you were able to enjoy all of our services and amenities. I will pass along to the rest of the staff your comments. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Service was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and nice. We felt very safe and appreciated. Breakfast bar spoiled us!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KParker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for taking a few minutes to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. Please visit with us again on your next trip to Alexandria, VA. I will pass along your comments to the rest of the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites in Alexandria VA (Old Town area south) for three nights in July, 2011. We had a large suite (2 queens and a pull-out sofa queen). Tons of space, nice and clean. The breakfast was outstanding. We also used the hotel shuttle to get back and forth to/from the Metro, and we never had to wait more that 10 minutes. We would defintely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Im_Purplechocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you very much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate feedback and will pass your information along to the rest of the staff. Please find us and "Like" us on Facebook to get "Friends" only deals. I hope you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I'm so glad I did my research and found this hotel. Once we arrived, we never had to touch our cars until we unfortunately had to leave. The 24hr shuttle(not found at any other hotels in the area) brought us to downtown Alexandria and the Metro, which were so easy to get. Call down a few mins before you want to leave, and when you get downstairs, it's ready for you!
The pool was open late, and they were not opposed to us drinking beers or eating food next to it. They even provided towels for us (which was awesome because we totally forgot to pack them.)
The breakfast was awesome. Eggs, omelettes, tater tots, pancakes, waffles, cereal, toast, bagels. We totally pigged out every morning, and made sure to get a grab bag when we were on our way out to DC.
Everyone who worked there was very accommodating, always smiling, and sweet.
Would return here again in a heartbeat. Don't even waste your time searching for something better. Book here, especially if you have a AAA card!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gigi4ricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MickiHeineken, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate the feeback and will pass your comments along to the entire staff. Please find us and "Like" us on Facebook to get "Friends" only deals. I hope you will visit with us again soon and we Love Our AAA Travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#8 of 52 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Address: 5821 Richmond Hwy, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and upgraded two bedded rooms to 2 queen size beds. Free Hot Breakfast Bar each morning. Free shuttle service to Historic Old Town Alexandria and Huntington Metro Station. Meeting and banquet space to accommodate 250 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Alexandria Old Town Area South
Hampton Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing