We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Sorry we upgraded to a Suite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sorry we upgraded to a Suite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Pros: The facility is bright and clean. There is a good grocery store across the street, as is a liquor store. Nice neighborhood to walk around in. The in-house "Bistro" offered good food and an exceptional staff. Our suite did have sm microwave, fridge and sink. Good television lineup.

Cons: We agreed to a $$ suite upgrade..must have been the oldest and last vacant room? It was a large, mostly empty room w/no dining table, only a couch,chair, desk and TV. Bedroom did include a comfortable King bed, but not much else but TV and cabinet. The room had two wall A/C units, the living room was automatic, the bed room unit fan ran 24/7, unless you turned the unit completely off. The front door bath commode stopped flushing. No ice on room floor, basically we were directed to help ourselves at the Bar coolers. No in-room safe (one offered for ?$$?)

Over all, the room did not look anything like the nice photos on the website. Do not accept a room on the Mezzanine level, as they appear to be a last hope.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room on the Mezzanine level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Kurt K,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. We are very happy to hear that our location was well suited to your plans and travels in the area. We will share your comments of the helpful service by our friendly staff. We apologize that the room upgrade was not up to your expectations we will look into ways to make our guest's stays in the Mezzanine suites more enjoyable and more pleasant to the guest's predilection. Thank you for bring your experience to our attention. Thank you also for choosing us and we look forward to you returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    166
    99
    43
    33
See reviews for
127
65
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lynwood,IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We came with a group of 40 -the Illiana Community Congregation-to visit the DC. Rooms were spacious and clean. Key cards were not always working, but staff remedied those matters quickly. Beds and pillows were "just like home." Breakfast had many items, cereal, oatmeal, eggs, fruits,bacon, sausage, bagels, muffins, and toast. As other reviews have stated, there is musty smell in the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator, since some of the hallways are quite far from the elevator. Or ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Henry H,

We do appreciate your comment and feedback on your recent stay with us. We look forward to hearing what our guest think of us and have experienced. We utilize your comments to better assist and serve our guest. We are happy you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable and the breakfast to be just right for your appetite. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel. We appreciate you bringing to our attention the musty odor in the hallway comments such as those allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention and improvement. It is our utmost pleasure to have served you. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

So-So, Good front desk staff, cafe,limited selections and very poor service. The bar is to close to the cafe, problems with loud drunks swearing. The hallways have an old smokey/musty smell.
The location is not in the best area of town, and is a long walk from old town. no bathroom fan, no microwave in room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Historyteachertrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Historyteachertrav,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We apologize you had a number of aversions that took away from you having an exceptional stay. We are very disappointed we failed in extending to you our best in accommodations. Please in the future we hope you return and if there is anything during your stay you are not pleased with, please bring it to our attention we would love to make your experience with us a great one. Thanks again for you comment and we hope that you would allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A great hotel for an overnight or short stay. Good location only 10 mins shuttle to Reagan Airport. Also hotel shuttle to historic district and marina....great for drinks and meals. Rooms spacious and clean. Friendly service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 46Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear 46Bear,

Thank you for your comments on your experience with us. We love to hear from our guest. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We really appreciate your recognition of our staff, we take pride in our staff's ability to serve our guest. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I received this hotel from Hotwire. The front desk person checking me in quickly informed me that I booked through "a third party", so I was not entitled to anything extra. Upgrades, late check out, nothing. At this point I made sure I would not spend a dime at this hotel. I parked around the block, and took a cab downtown to eat. These hotels should realize that just because I used a third party booking place, I still spend money. If they don't want 'third party bookings", don't put yourself on these sites.

Location: too far away from downtown, they have a shuttle but only runs once per hour.

Room: Typical cheap hotel room. Window a/c. Plastic glasses to drink from.

If you are in need of a lower end hotel, this would be fine. I only saved a little bit over their regular rate when I used my third party booking company. I would not stay here again, because of the front desk attitude and poor location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Dave H,

Thanks for the observations and the feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize you could not be completely happy with the quality of your room. Upgrades and late check out are upon availability, unfortunately we may not have been unable to accommodate your request. We train our staff to be responsive to our guest needs. We apologize if our staff's attentiveness was not exemplary during your stay. We're sorry you were not pleased with the logistics of our complimentary shuttle services during your stay. Thank you for constructive comments help to show us where we can work harder to serve our guest better. We hope that you would reconsider returning and allow us the opportunity to serve your needs better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Treated very well. The restaurant at breakfast has a great waitress, Alicia, who would do anything for you. My only complaints about the hotel are the keys quit working every other time you used them and the internet would disconnect al the time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Marlynn H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the food delectable, our staff is so helpful to mention by name. We apologize for the issues you experienced with your room keys and internet. We are glad you chose us, and we're looking forward to you returning that we may serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked our room on Priceline which we've done more than a hundred times for various trips but after asking the front desk about our room we realized you get treated differently here. Our room on the 3rd floor was right near the elevator and when we walked in our first though was "very roomy." Upon further inspection we realize there's a handicapped shower with a bench in it. I thought perhaps they had just done that in every room to be accommodating and I wasn't too concerned until my husband used the shower and water went all over the bathroom floor making the tile very slippery and very dangerous.

There was also a nightstand with a drawer that wouldn't stay closed. We also had to pay an additional $20 for parking. We booked this hotel because it said "historic district" but it's actually a good 7-8 blocks from the main shopping & restaurant area.

There is breakfast in the morning and some guests get free breakfast; we did not. The waitress asked us if we had a pass so I asked at the front desk and was told we booked a "standard" room. We did not get a "standard" room; we got a handicapped room. Upon checkout I asked about that and was told "If you book a standard room you get what's available." Really? The hotel was not full at all so putting us in a room with "issues" certainly told us how they do business.

We wouldn't stay here again simply because of the way we were treated. We use Priceline or other booking sites often and we've never felt like we got "second class treatment" at any other hotel. We've had rooms at Sheraton's & Hyatt's that have certainly exceeded this Holiday Inn in hospitality. Sadly it wouldn't have cost them anything to have given us a regular room - I doubt the normal rooms are any different except for the handicapped shower and room configuration.

Room Tip: Make sure it's not handicapped with a shower that leaves a pond in the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolmsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Malcomsmom,

Thank you for your valuable comments and feedback. Your experience is important to us. We strive towards the goal that each guest has a great overall experience for all of our guest. We regret we did not obtain that goal in your instance. We're sorry you perceived your treatment to be bias because of the type of reservation made. We consider all guest valuable and important to us.
It's a privilege for you to have chosen us to stay with, we're looking forward to you returning to allow us to exceed in our ability to serve you..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing