We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location. Worked perfectly for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Ranked #32 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days for a wedding event. Loved the location - we were able to walk to Old Town and the wedding venue. The grocery store across the street was perfect - we got snacks and drinks and were very comfortable during our stay. Room was spacious, front desk staff was helpful and friendly - and the special rates for the wedding party were attractive. Bed was comfortable and the room was clean. We took the shuttle to Reagan. And ended up taking a taxi to Washington DC to save time. Taxi was only $20 so it worked for us. Don't understand the complaints of others - you're staying at a Holiday Inn folks not a boutique, pricey hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claudia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 491 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Throughout my stay, the hotel staff was very polite and helpful. They always greeted me with a smile and gave great recommendations for the surrounding area.

However, there are a number of issues with the hotel itself. I walked in to the hotel room and immediately noticed it smelled musty. The curtains were also slightly dirty.

In addition, the wi-fi in the hotel was very bad. I could only connect to it about 70% of the time. When I could connect, the wi-fi was terribly slow. As a visitor for business purposes, not having internet was difficult.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjppjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Cjppjc,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to give your comments. We receive each comment as a vital tool in improving and making changes where needed to best serve our guest. Our goal is that we meet the needs of our guest while staying us. We regret we did not meet that goal. We apologize that you were not pleased with the WiFi service. We have recently began making changes in our services with our WiFi provider to improve the connectability for our guest. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to exceed in our ability to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Service was great. Front desk was very helpful. Hotel was so strategically placed. We walked around old town and got on shuttle to metro to get to sites of D.C. Plenty of history to see and read just walking around hotel. GREAT italian restaurant A LA LUCIA near hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unecorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Unecorn,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. . We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

if you have any concerncs, need help with understanding the area, resources to get around check the front desk with Alex or Moe. both are helpful, know the area and understand hotel policies to make certain our stay (family of 8) was comfortable and excellent . Great customer service. free shuttle to Regan etc. hearty breakfast and cheerful employees. overall great experience

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious - ask to be placed away from the elevator at they can be a bit noisy in morni...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tech4africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Tech4africa,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Here for a weekend conference. The room was average, clean & spacious. Since I had a roommate, I liked the toilet/shower area separate from the sink, so one could shower while the other was getting ready. Has blowdryer & coffee maker. Free shuttle to Reagan airport and to Old Town Alexandria, which was so much fun for shopping. Great restaurants, music & nightlife. Also just blocks to walk to Old Town, which we usually did. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, good selection for breakfast buffet, nice workout facility, clean pool.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Splindenberg,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, our amenities enjoyable, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is excellently situated with a supermarket across the road and shuttle bus which takes you to either downtown pretty Alexandria or the Ronald Reagan Airport. Our room was ok but was a little tired and could have done with a good lick of paint but was large and airy. It overlooked an indoor garden so that made the room a bit dark and did need to put lights on when in the room.

There was a bit confusion at breakfast as we had paid for Bed and Breakfast rate and we were not given vouchers so went to reception who said we had to pay for breakfast. Unfortunately we hadn't printed out our confirmation so had to go online to prove it - so word of warning, print out your booking!! But got it sorted eventually and got our breakfast which was ok but not holiday inn's usually large selection.

However, that said, I would go back to the hotel but request a freshly decorated room as the location was ideal for us and supermarket across the road was so handy for buying our picnic before we set off.

Room Tip: ask for a freshly decorated room with an outside view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Scottcamper,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We regret that your experience reflects that we did not live up to that goal. We hope you will return to allow us the opportunity to give you that quality of stay we believe all of our guests deserve and ought to receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed on last trip, and was ok but nothing special. Underground car park. Supermarket across the road. Walking distance to train station. Had a good breakfast there on day of checking out and this was good, Clean and tidy. Probably did everything it was supposed to but no wow factor.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Dear PAC2207,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
0.1 mi away
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#22 of 54 in Alexandria
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Alexandria Old Town/Duke Street
5.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Alexandria
1.1 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#7 of 54 in Alexandria
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range: $99 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing