We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk to Old Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Ranked #30 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Walk to Old Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Service was great. Front desk was very helpful. Hotel was so strategically placed. We walked around old town and got on shuttle to metro to get to sites of D.C. Plenty of history to see and read just walking around hotel. GREAT italian restaurant A LA LUCIA near hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unecorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Unecorn,

We appreciate your compliments and feedback on our hotel. It is our pleasure to serve you. We love knowing we achieved our goal in providing you with an overall experience that was exceptional. . We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing us, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    174
    108
    47
    34
See reviews for
134
70
34
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

if you have any concerncs, need help with understanding the area, resources to get around check the front desk with Alex or Moe. both are helpful, know the area and understand hotel policies to make certain our stay (family of 8) was comfortable and excellent . Great customer service. free shuttle to Regan etc. hearty breakfast and cheerful employees. overall great experience

Room Tip: all rooms are spacious - ask to be placed away from the elevator at they can be a bit noisy in morni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tech4africa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Tech4africa,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negaunee, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Here for a weekend conference. The room was average, clean & spacious. Since I had a roommate, I liked the toilet/shower area separate from the sink, so one could shower while the other was getting ready. Has blowdryer & coffee maker. Free shuttle to Reagan airport and to Old Town Alexandria, which was so much fun for shopping. Great restaurants, music & nightlife. Also just blocks to walk to Old Town, which we usually did. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, good selection for breakfast buffet, nice workout facility, clean pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splindenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Splindenberg,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, our amenities enjoyable, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is excellently situated with a supermarket across the road and shuttle bus which takes you to either downtown pretty Alexandria or the Ronald Reagan Airport. Our room was ok but was a little tired and could have done with a good lick of paint but was large and airy. It overlooked an indoor garden so that made the room a bit dark and did need to put lights on when in the room.

There was a bit confusion at breakfast as we had paid for Bed and Breakfast rate and we were not given vouchers so went to reception who said we had to pay for breakfast. Unfortunately we hadn't printed out our confirmation so had to go online to prove it - so word of warning, print out your booking!! But got it sorted eventually and got our breakfast which was ok but not holiday inn's usually large selection.

However, that said, I would go back to the hotel but request a freshly decorated room as the location was ideal for us and supermarket across the road was so handy for buying our picnic before we set off.

Room Tip: ask for a freshly decorated room with an outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Scottcamper,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Your comments are vital in helping us to continue to assert improvements where it is necessary. We apologize that you were not pleased with your experience with us. It our goal, that all of our guests would have a great overall experience. We regret that your experience reflects that we did not live up to that goal. We hope you will return to allow us the opportunity to give you that quality of stay we believe all of our guests deserve and ought to receive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
Level Contributor
198 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed on last trip, and was ok but nothing special. Underground car park. Supermarket across the road. Walking distance to train station. Had a good breakfast there on day of checking out and this was good, Clean and tidy. Probably did everything it was supposed to but no wow factor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAC2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear PAC2207,

Thank you for your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I picked this hotel, sight unseen, for a weekend 50th class reunion of my nursing school class. I chose it for convenience from the airport and close to restaurants and shopping. We had 14 attend and had an absolutely wonderful weekend of catching up after many years of not seeing each other. Kim, at the front desk, could not have been any more accommodating to our needs. She helped arrange the shuttle for us and always acknowledged me by name. The shuttle driver went out of his way to take us to our dinner place and pick us up even though it wasn't normally on his route. I had spoken with Myrna Tesalona before I arrived regarding a casual get together the first evening. She arranged for us to have our own section of the bar area for cocktails and snacks. She even had a Welcome sign for us. Her staff, Lahbib and Marleen, took excellent care of us and catered to our every need that evening. Myrna checked on us all weekend and pretty much knew who all was in our group. She made sure that we were doing okay and if we needed anything. I did not hear one complaint from my friends about the hotel.
We decided that we would get together again in 5 years and would love to do it again at this Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: All of the rooms that I visited were spacious, bright and clean. We enjoyed our room with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Emily L,

We appreciate your comments, your positive name recognition of our staff, services and feedback on our hotel. It is our utmost pleasure to serve you. It is our goal to provide our guest a great overall experience. Your comments will be shared with our staff to encourage continued efforts of generous hospitality. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and we're anticipating your return to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eldridge, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff was great...helpful & friendly. Rooms were pleasant & clean...beds & pillows were comfy.... the location was so close to Ronald Regan Airport(but didn't hear any noises).. the shuttle to airport, metro & Historic King St was so convenient. The full service grocery store across the street from the hotel came in very handy. This is a dog friendly hotel, which was a must for us! This hotel has an indoor/outdoor pool & fitness center. There is a restaurant & a café on site. We also had decent Wifi in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CRH55,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and spacious, our staff helpful, our amenities enjoyable, and our location perfect for your itinerary. We are glad you chose us, and we look forward to serving you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#19 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hampton Inn Alexandria - Old Town/King Street Metro
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing