We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Just fine for a place to sleep” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just fine for a place to sleep”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Nothing fancy about this place at all. Furnishings seemed c. 1960's but the place seemed clean. The rooms were large, a desk was provided as was a lounge chair. There was separation between the shower and sink so it made it easier for two to get dressed. The bed was clean and comfortable, the shower hot and the water plentiful. The in-room coffee at least tasted like coffee. Unfortuntely there was no tea available. The TV reception was crappy. The hotel restaraunt hours were poor, if you don't get down to breakfast till later (10:00 am on week days) you're SOL and will need to go off site. Parking is $10/night in the garage. Front desk folks were friendly and very helpful.

We stayed here on our last night prior to a flight out of the DC area. It was fine for that but not luxury.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments, we always look forward to hearing from our guest on what we can improve. It is our goal to make sure every one of our guest has a great stay. We hope you chose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    170
    106
    44
    33
See reviews for
131
70
34
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Souderton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a convention across the bridge at National Harbor, wanting to save some cash on our trip. This place is a pretty awesome part of the Holiday Inn chain. There's a Giant right across the street, which is super convenient, in addition to the little cafe that is part of the massive lobby. The hotel pool is accessible year round, and there's a shuttle to take you out to King Street where all the shopping and restaurants are in the immediate area. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful when we needed them. The room was clean, the heat/air worked well, shower pressure was good, the mattresses were comfy, and checkout was easy.

Parking in the garage was a little bit tough. A lot of the spaces have massive beams in the way and you can't truly fit a car in the spot. They need to repaint the lines or something. We had a tough time finding parking late at night when we would come back, due in part to heaps of people staying the same weekend for some kind of track meet. Said track meet teenagers and their mothers were particularly loud and obnoxious in the hallways early in the morning through the afternoon, but we handled asking them to keep it down on our own, instead of getting staff involved.

Parking is 20 bucks a night (ouch), but we joined the Priority Club rewards thing (for free) and only paid 10 a night instead. This parking fee didn't appear on the bill that was put under the door, so I did end up having to call the hotel after seeing the charge difference at home just to be sure. Aside from the Giant, there wasn't much conveniently close by, and historic Alexandria has a tragically lousy parking situation, so if you're interested in staying here to see Alexandria, go in warmer weather and walk it. We spent our days by the Harbor so it didn't matter much, and it was worth the price (AAA discount!).

Room Tip: You can smell the pool in the lobby near the elevators to the parking garage, so steer clear if that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for all the great comments we love the positive feedback. It is truly our pleasure to service our guests. I am glad to hear that are location worked out so well for you. Next time you stay with us try out the bicycles that we have available that our free to our guest to enjoy the area. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

My family and I stayed here during Inauguration weekend. The property is in close proximity to Reagan Airport and the Metro station (public transportation). They have a free shuttle that will take you to the airport or to Historic Alexandria. There are many places to shop and dine on the historic strip.
The staff were courteous and promptly responded to requests for extra towels, directions, etc.
There is a restaurant on-site. We ate breakfast there and it was ok and reasonably priced.
The property was clean (rooms, parking garage, elevators, restrooms).
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimplyJ0Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments of our staff and feedback on your experience. We are very glad that you experienced a great weekend here during the Inauguration. It's really good to know you will stay with us again. Let us know the next time you return we will give you some insider info on more of the local attractions for you to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wasn't sure what to expect when I got this hotel on Priceline after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised! I stayed here in November and have been meaning to write a review. Front desk was nice, allowed me to check in early so I could go spend the day in Baltimore. The room was clean, the only issue I had with it was that I did see a couple of bugs (silverfish?) while there. But that didn't bother me too much, I didn't spend much time in the room and just made sure my bags and belongings were closed tightly so the bugs didn't travel home with me. The location was perfect as I could walk across the street to Giant if I needed something. Also loved the airport shuttle so I could catch the metro into DC instead of driving. The parking deck was being renovated when I was there so parking was free. I was directed to park at the Crowne Plaza and catch the shuttle to the hotel. It wasn't a bad walk though so I only used this option at night. I would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaO656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments and feedback. We're glad that you were able to get to your destinations without any hassles during the parking lot renovations, which was the experience we desired for our guest during that time when we were improving our parking lot. We hope that the next time you come you will take advantage of the bikes that are free for our guest. You could tour the area or go on the nearby bike trail and enjoy the beautiful scenery. If you stay with us on a weekend there is also a farmers market nearby to pick up items you might not get in the local grocery store.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel recently renovated and spacious rooms are well appointed, clean and comfortable. King rooms have comfy chair and ottoman to relax in. Full service hotel with everything you need for business or leisure. Fitness room, indoor/outdoor pool and elevated private courtyard. Meeting rooms and ball rooms onsite plus coffee bar and full service restaurant. $10 underground parking on site. Close to Reagan airport. Hotel food is not stellar but there are plenty of wonderful restaurants within walking distance catering to all food needs. Grocery store across the street for anyone who wishes to pick up their own snacks. A decent stay, above average for a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside King room with a balcony! Small balconies overlook courtyard and provide nice sett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you were able to getaway to relax and enjoy the view from you balcony room. We hope you would come back in the summer months to enjoy the room and have a view of the herb and vegetable garden recently planted which should be a really nice view. We hope you also take advantage of our bikes that available for the nearby bike trail or just to get around Old Town at your leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We checked in very late at night, took possession of the keys, and did not enter the room until later that night. I'm not sure what rooms people get who leave positive reviews but ours was awful. It had not been cleaned and the bedsheets were covered with someone else's hair. The lampshade on the desk was burned and the sink crusted with what looked like years of lime buildup. Needless to say we checked out as quickly as possible. Never again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordPercyPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Administrator at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
I appreciate your feedback and affording us the opportunity to take corrective action. We take a great deal of pride in our operation and are continually striving to achieve the highest levels of guest satisfaction. Encounters such as the ones you experienced deter from our overall objective and as such are of great concern to us. In view of your dissatisfaction and our inability to rectify your issue by this venue our General Manager wishes to get more information from you and asks if you could contact the hotel personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
172 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel is clean, comfortable and conveniently located in Old Alexandria, VA. Not too far from a Metro station, convenient food store across the street, and fairly quiet neighborhood (except for the planes taking off from Reagan National Airport...) All in all, a pleasant place if you have to be close to Crystal City and do not want to pay the prices of hotels in Crystal City.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 54 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing