We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, convenient hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sharpsville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, convenient hotel”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

As a frequent traveler, I would recommend this hotel for business and leisure travelers. The front desk staff was very courteous and helpful, and I was recognized as a Priority Club member. The beds were comfortable, the A/C unit worked well as was not overly noisy. The room was quiet and clean. The wireless internet connection in the room is free, but is slow. Get the access code from the front desk.
It's about 3/4's of a mile walk from the hotel to King Street, where most of the restaurants and entertainment is in Old Town Alexandria. The hotel has a shuttle that can take you to King Street and to Reagan National Airport. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant, but we did eat breakfast at the hotel cafe once, and it was terrible. After that, we walked the few blocks down St. Asaph Street to the Royal Restaurant, and had a good breakfast.
It would be nice if the hotel extended their shuttle service to the Metro stations (Braddock Road or King Street), but they seem unwilling to do that.
There is a Giant supermarket across the street and a good chinese take out place a few blocks down Pitt Street.

Room Tip: Join the Priority Club before your trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    176
    113
    49
    36
See reviews for
139
73
35
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is the second year in a row that we have stayed at the Holiday Inn. The rooms are clean and the staff is very friendly. Will stay here again when we return. Close to Old Town and close to GW Parkway. Didn't eat at the hotel, too pricy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthEast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I thought this place was Very good, I wasn't impressed on the breakfast setup. You do pay $20 to park, but you get a free shuttle to and from the Metro. We took the Metro to DC and back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlukeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Great staff! Good shuttle. Place is tired. Needs to be updated. Elevators and stairs on convention side were not vacuumed for the four days we were there. Need to take shuttle everywhere,unless you like to walk. Very convenient to Ronald Regan Airport.

Room Tip: Make sure your not near the ice maker--very noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpc0398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend. Staff very friendly. Stayed in a nice, quiet room on the top floor at the end of the hall (Room 478). Room has coffee maker, small frig and microwave. Giant supermarket is across the street; Trader Joes/Starbucks a few blocks away. If you like to walk, the hotel is within walking distance of the Potomac River/Mount Vernon Trail (~4 blocks), Old Town is ~10 blocks and Braddock Road Metro ~8 blocks. Also, there are a number good restaurants located in North Old Town near the hotel: Bastille, a la lucia, TJ Stones, Royal Thai, Perks. The Royal Restaurant has been there forever and is known for breakfast. If you like chinese food takeout, I highly recommend the Asian Wok which is two blocks from the hotel. Doesn't look like much but the food is great.

Unlike other Holiday Inn hotels I've stayed in, this particular location does not supply hair conditioner. No problem since there is a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lieslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Since we travel with our dog, this was the best choice in terms of price, location and being pet friendly. It is minutes away from plenty of shopping and dining at Old Town's King Street. The airport shuttle leaves the hotel every 30 minutes to Ronald Reagan where you can also catch the Metro into DC to avoid traffic and attempting to park in the city. It is pet friendly with a nominal one time fee ($50) and is in a good neighborhood for taking your dog for a nice stroll. We did have an issue with housekeeping as they just folded up and rehung our old towels rather than replacing them but there was no issue in getting new ones once we asked. The breakfast buffet was mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgthomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed at the Alexandria Holiday Inn for 2 nights. The rooms were average with comfortable beds, but not the cleanest carpets. Although our room had a balcony, the view was very dull. The bathrooms looked nice at first glance but when I took a shower the anti-slip floor had a large tear that ran through the tub. This was an unpleasant bathroom. Overall, the room and bathroom were not the best. Comfy beds, a balcony with a bad view, and a T.V. were the only highlights. (The T.V. had a small selection of channels) The front desk was helpful and pleasant. They attended to all of our needs. The lobby was moderately nice but the small cafe didn't have much to choose from. However, there was a huge grocery store across the street which was a big plus. Another amenity was the hotel's walking distance to the historic district of Alexandria. If visiting Alexandria is important on your itinerary then the Alexandria Holiday Inn is a decent stay, but if your trip is centered around D.C., then I would recommend not staying in the Alexandria Holliday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#21 of 54 in Alexandria
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,394 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing