We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Old Town Alexandria” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Town Alexandria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend. Staff very friendly. Stayed in a nice, quiet room on the top floor at the end of the hall (Room 478). Room has coffee maker, small frig and microwave. Giant supermarket is across the street; Trader Joes/Starbucks a few blocks away. If you like to walk, the hotel is within walking distance of the Potomac River/Mount Vernon Trail (~4 blocks), Old Town is ~10 blocks and Braddock Road Metro ~8 blocks. Also, there are a number good restaurants located in North Old Town near the hotel: Bastille, a la lucia, TJ Stones, Royal Thai, Perks. The Royal Restaurant has been there forever and is known for breakfast. If you like chinese food takeout, I highly recommend the Asian Wok which is two blocks from the hotel. Doesn't look like much but the food is great.

Unlike other Holiday Inn hotels I've stayed in, this particular location does not supply hair conditioner. No problem since there is a grocery store across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lieslb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    166
    99
    43
    33
See reviews for
127
65
33
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Since we travel with our dog, this was the best choice in terms of price, location and being pet friendly. It is minutes away from plenty of shopping and dining at Old Town's King Street. The airport shuttle leaves the hotel every 30 minutes to Ronald Reagan where you can also catch the Metro into DC to avoid traffic and attempting to park in the city. It is pet friendly with a nominal one time fee ($50) and is in a good neighborhood for taking your dog for a nice stroll. We did have an issue with housekeeping as they just folded up and rehung our old towels rather than replacing them but there was no issue in getting new ones once we asked. The breakfast buffet was mediocre.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgthomas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I stayed at the Alexandria Holiday Inn for 2 nights. The rooms were average with comfortable beds, but not the cleanest carpets. Although our room had a balcony, the view was very dull. The bathrooms looked nice at first glance but when I took a shower the anti-slip floor had a large tear that ran through the tub. This was an unpleasant bathroom. Overall, the room and bathroom were not the best. Comfy beds, a balcony with a bad view, and a T.V. were the only highlights. (The T.V. had a small selection of channels) The front desk was helpful and pleasant. They attended to all of our needs. The lobby was moderately nice but the small cafe didn't have much to choose from. However, there was a huge grocery store across the street which was a big plus. Another amenity was the hotel's walking distance to the historic district of Alexandria. If visiting Alexandria is important on your itinerary then the Alexandria Holiday Inn is a decent stay, but if your trip is centered around D.C., then I would recommend not staying in the Alexandria Holliday Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
159 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I dont normally stay at Holiday Inns since I travel with the family dog and most Holiday Inns dont accept pets. This one does. With us flying into Reagan Airport, this was the closest one that takes pets. Let me tell you, this was a great stay....cheap (comparative to most Alexandria hotels) clean, shuttle picked us up when we landed at 1045pm, and the entire staff was great. Would definitely stay here again. Partaked in the "stimulus package" that has parking and breakfast buffet included, not a bad package deal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjacostausmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a convenient hotel within walking distance of Alexandria's historic district. Alex, at the front desk was wonderful and helped us out with parking. There is a Giant grocery store across the street. The hotel is very large with meeting rooms and a full service restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank techmgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. At checkin I asked about the possiblity of a pool facing room based on a review read here. The clerk interpeted this as a road facing room. I called to ask why and she explained that there were not any pool facing rooms available for the length of time we were staying. I felt that we were getting a lesser deal for patronizing the hotel for a longer time than most which I don't understand. We stayed in the room until the evening when I realized the wall mounted ac/heat thing wasn't working. I requested a different room from a new desk clerk and he was able to put us in a pool facing room. ?? This room was not only cooler but had more updatees (bathroom & air control unit). We kept this room despite these mosquito looking things all over the ceiling above the sink and the bathtub not draining. That is, until the next evening when a creep crawly that was very fast skittered across the carpet when we returned. There was an ant in the bathroom at that time, too. The creepy crawly was a bit much so I requsted a new room again. The new desk clerk nicely put us on a higher floor in a larger room and gave us vouchers for 2 free breakfasts. This room was fine but I saw a small bug of some kind the morning of checkout. In gerneral the hotel is run down. I tried to find anything resembling new carpet or areas that weren't stained (do people travel with lots of red lipstick or something? Each room had red stains). The cushions on the lounge chairs in the pool area were so worn and stained I put towels down before I sat on them. Wallpaper is peeling in the rooms and I found a cocktail straw on the floor of our last room that wasn't ours. Despite the helpful employees, they can't make up for the lackluster hotel. I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it but it worked for us in the end. They do allow dogs and it also seems to be where many airline employees stay based on who rode the shuttle with us. Alexandria, though, is an interesting and inviting area. Loved that and the people.

Room Tip: Request higher floor and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear JCJake,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I am glad that our you found our staff service accommodating. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Please accept my sincerest apology if we fell below your expectations on this day.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGcare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Convenient to DC, very clean and good staff. The on site Resturant was very good and inexpensive, surprise! Shuttle to Metro via Reagan/National Airport was my only complaint-location of drop off not good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
BEST WESTERN Old Colony Inn
#18 of 53 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria- Historic District is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria-Historic District be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing