We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Run down”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed 5 nights at this hotel. At checkin I asked about the possiblity of a pool facing room based on a review read here. The clerk interpeted this as a road facing room. I called to ask why and she explained that there were not any pool facing rooms available for the length of time we were staying. I felt that we were getting a lesser deal for patronizing the hotel for a longer time than most which I don't understand. We stayed in the room until the evening when I realized the wall mounted ac/heat thing wasn't working. I requested a different room from a new desk clerk and he was able to put us in a pool facing room. ?? This room was not only cooler but had more updatees (bathroom & air control unit). We kept this room despite these mosquito looking things all over the ceiling above the sink and the bathtub not draining. That is, until the next evening when a creep crawly that was very fast skittered across the carpet when we returned. There was an ant in the bathroom at that time, too. The creepy crawly was a bit much so I requsted a new room again. The new desk clerk nicely put us on a higher floor in a larger room and gave us vouchers for 2 free breakfasts. This room was fine but I saw a small bug of some kind the morning of checkout. In gerneral the hotel is run down. I tried to find anything resembling new carpet or areas that weren't stained (do people travel with lots of red lipstick or something? Each room had red stains). The cushions on the lounge chairs in the pool area were so worn and stained I put towels down before I sat on them. Wallpaper is peeling in the rooms and I found a cocktail straw on the floor of our last room that wasn't ours. Despite the helpful employees, they can't make up for the lackluster hotel. I wouldn't stay there again or recommend it but it worked for us in the end. They do allow dogs and it also seems to be where many airline employees stay based on who rode the shuttle with us. Alexandria, though, is an interesting and inviting area. Loved that and the people.

Room Tip: Request higher floor and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear JCJake,

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. I am glad that our you found our staff service accommodating. I want to assure you that we work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. Please accept my sincerest apology if we fell below your expectations on this day.

Again, thank you for your feedback as this is our best resource of improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGcare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    176
    113
    49
    36
See reviews for
139
73
35
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Convenient to DC, very clean and good staff. The on site Resturant was very good and inexpensive, surprise! Shuttle to Metro via Reagan/National Airport was my only complaint-location of drop off not good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kankakee, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel was is a very good area within walking distance of good restaurants- (we recommend TJ Stones). The shuttle service to the Airport, (where we caught the Metro) and King Street made getting around extremely easy. The front desk staff was very helpful with directions and it was really nice to have the bar and the restaurant in the hotel.
The bar staff - Bill, Marleen and our waitress at breakfast - Amelsa were very friendly and made it a very comfortable place to stop at the end of a long day of sight seeing.
Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay away from DC proper but close enought to be able to see all there is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel has been there awhile, but the room was clean and the staff were very helpful. The room cost was very reasonable for the D.C. area and had easy access to the memorial day activities. A good restaurant (Stones) was a block away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocWimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

I travel frequently and spend over 75 nights a year on the road, many internationally. In all my travels there is no hotel anywhere in the world that provides better service and care than the HOLIDAY INN in Old town Alexandria Va, The manager Wanda Delgado is superb and has assembled a great service team. It starts at the front desk where Alex and Mo are simply the best of any in the world. When you walk in they already have your reservation made,key ready, room asigned and all the information you need ready to hand to you. I have never spent more than 2 minutes at the front desk when these two are on duty. The bar/grill area is also superbly managed and run by Bill. When I approach the bar he already has my favorite drink poured and ready for me. He constantly checks on all the customers and has a great service mentality, without being intrusive. AAAAA+ for this place and all its superb employees.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallace1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Four couples rented 4 rooms. All rooms were very clean. Good size fridge in all. Suite was exceptionally large with dining room table, a bar and renovated bathroom. Regular rooms have old bathrooms, but they were in fine shape. Ask for a room overlooking pool courtyard which is much nicer than overlooking parking lot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking pool courtyard which is much nicer than overlooking parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret-Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were at the property to attend a funeral and our rooms were filthy -mold in bathroom, stained carpets, and the had hundreds of kids there and didn't put them together in one area. It was that Close Up group and they ran and yelled and were terrors. Management didn't do anything to help out. Would never go back and we travel to that area monthly for business meetings.

Room Tip: Stay at Club Monaco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashBarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Dear Barbara D,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
Old Colony Inn Alexandria
#20 of 54 in Alexandria
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#6 of 54 in Alexandria
1,391 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn Alexandria Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town
Address: 625 First St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1511 (Formerly Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Historic District Alexandria)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town is located in the heart of Alexandria, convenient to everything Old Town Alexandria and Washington, DC have to offer. The Potomac River and King Street's entertainment district, restaurants and boutique shopping are just blocks from the hotel. At our pet friendly hotel, we provide complimentary high-speed Internet and shuttle service to Reagan National Airport, Metro and King Street. Experience fine hospitality when you stay at the Holiday Inn. During your stay, dine in Traditions Restaurant and Lounge, featuring the specialties of Alexandria and light American fare. Kids Eat Free (with select rates and accompanied by an adult) in our restaurant and will enjoy our combination indoor/outdoor pool. Famed attractions in the Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA area include the Smithsonian museums, White House, Capitol Building, Mount Vernon, and the numerous monuments and cemeteries. This hotel in Alexandria, VA is also convenient to the Pentagon and Crystal City. Whether you are traveling on business or pleasure, let the Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town be your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Historic District Alexandria
Holiday Inn Alexandria
Alexandria Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing