We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply prepared, southern-inspired food - go during restaurant week for a good bargain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson 20

Jackson 20
Reserve with OpenTable
Jackson 20 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: South Pitt
Transit: King Street Metro
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply prepared, southern-inspired food - go during restaurant week for a good bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate here recently in a large group (including children) for a late lunch during Restaurant Week, when a 3-course lunch is $20. Everyone very much enjoyed the southern-inspired food and generous portion size, with the salmon & collard greens, homemade mac & cheese, gazpacho and shrimp fritters receiving high praise. The chocolate pudding was the only thing we could have done without. If you're taking kids, I'd recommend it for a late lunch or early dinner when it's less likely to be busy. We'd definitely go back and would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank planetree05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    153
    77
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adamstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Brunch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The brunch was so good with just enough options that you are not overwhelmed!! Even though it was very busy, the service was top notch!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yokechia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Convenient, great service, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were guest of the Hotel Monaco and needed a near-by place to grab a bite to eat. Having our one year old daughter with us, we went for an early dinner and scoped the scene for other kids. Luckily we found two other toddlers there. Normally, I would not say this is a kid place, but going early in the evening – maybe so. We didn't have reservations, but were able to get a table (maybe bc we were staying at the hotel). Our server was a bit busy, so the manager greeted us, took our drink order and even offered to go ahead and order something for our little one! We started with the cheese plate – cheese was good, but would have preferred a baguette for bread as opposed to the grilled Panini type bread – and I ordered the ribs (fall off the bone YUM!) and my husband had a steak (decent). Good wine, beer and cocktail menu. Nice atmosphere. Again, servers very attentive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank USParisian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good second choice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had planned on another place but they were closed. So we went there on a whim. The tomato salad was fantastic! I had fried chicken with a side of mac and cheese. I liked both very much. The only problem I had was with the blueberry pie. It was delicious and the lemon curd was outstanding..... but.... the bottom crust was thick and hard to get through. That said, my husband had the stroganoff and it was fork tender and amazing. The staff was great too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ewill78358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regional cusine that best represents VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We did stay at the Klimpton Monaco Alexandria and after a full day of high-octane site seeing in D.C. the delectable dinner provided by this welcoming restaurant was much enjoyed and appreciated. The martinis are great too!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JLWSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson 20 also viewed

 

Been to Jackson 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing