We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good second choice.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jackson 20

Jackson 20
Reserve with OpenTable
Jackson 20 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 748 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: South Pitt
Transit: King Street Metro
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good second choice.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had planned on another place but they were closed. So we went there on a whim. The tomato salad was fantastic! I had fried chicken with a side of mac and cheese. I liked both very much. The only problem I had was with the blueberry pie. It was delicious and the lemon curd was outstanding..... but.... the bottom crust was thick and hard to get through. That said, my husband had the stroganoff and it was fork tender and amazing. The staff was great too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ewill78358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    153
    77
    32
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
So Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regional cusine that best represents VA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

We did stay at the Klimpton Monaco Alexandria and after a full day of high-octane site seeing in D.C. the delectable dinner provided by this welcoming restaurant was much enjoyed and appreciated. The martinis are great too!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank JLWSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Always fun.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our second trip was just as good as our first, but this time we had our daughter in tow. The bar menu hit the spot for a light dinner / happy hour after traveling home from a vacation at the beach.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yeknoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

If you are a food lover, make sure to stop in to Jackson 20 for at least a couple of appetizers. Delicious doesn't even begin to describe their food. Fabulous, amazing, ridiculously amazing! Try their pulled pork sandwich and the best fries ever!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Restrained”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

A nice place but hard to get excited about because most of what we had seemed a bit circumscribed. The house-made kielbasa, for example, was good but lacked the bite that kielbasa should have. The trout almondine was also good but dull and uninspired. The best dish on the table was definitely the shrimp with grits, one of those creative offerings I had never had before. Simultaneously creamy and spicy, the shrimp and grits may inspire me to make a return trip. Cocktails were watery. The one called "Not So French" tasted like lemonade. Just lemonade. For $12. A bad way to start a meal.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAFCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson 20 also viewed

 

Been to Jackson 20? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing