We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthwhile and enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Civil War History Walking Tour of Alexandria
Ranked #8 of 87 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worthwhile and enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The receptionist and the tour guides were very friendly . We came early in the week, the tour groups were small, & were able to answer many questions after they took us to the various rooms. Learned how important political debates and plans were held there and in similar places in the colonies. My only disappointment was I was hoping to get some time in the tavern's original kitchen, but that wasn't part of the tour, as a small restaurant owner, I would have been fascinated by that. Also on the Key to the City Pass which you can get at the Visitor's Center, nearby on King's Street. ($10 for admission to several historic sites)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    69
    14
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our guide, William, was friendly and engaging. He made the tour interesting and was honest when he didn't quite know the answer to a question. Learning the history of the tavern and the times and not solely having things focused on Washington made it more interesting for me.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Level Contributor
858 reviews
502 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 975 helpful votes
“Enjoyed seeing the inn and tavern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We went on a Friday afternoon to the museum(inn and tavern). They close at 5 pm with the last tour starting at 4:45. The tour lasts for 30 minutes so guess that last tour goes over closing time. It's only $5 admission, and you get a knowledgable and enthusiastic guide to take you around. You are shown the public tavern area plus the more private dining room, the assembly room (ballroom), and the sleeping quarters as well as the public room where Washington ate and Jefferson had his inaugural dinner and other prominent men also ate and debated. The furnishings are true to the Colonial period. This is not a huge destination stop, but it is definitely worth the 30 minutes and the $5. Note there are two sets of steep stairs to the second and third floors but they have good handrails.
We were finished with our tour at 4:45 and the building next door, the tavern, was not open for meals until 5:30, but they let us look and take photos and served us a drink in the courtyard.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

We went on a tour of this museum because we missed our boat, literally, to go to Mt. Vernon. Nice little tour. Takes about 30 minutes. Gives you a taste of what it was like to travel in the 1700's.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank relzned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
180 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

We used AAA to get a discount. We were the only ones on the tour which was nice. Interesting to stand were George Washington and Thomas Jefferson did.

Helpful?
Thank waterdogooder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing