We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Inexpensive, Informative Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Civil War History Walking Tour of Alexandria
Ranked #8 of 87 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, Informative Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This tour was about $5 per adult. It was a quick 30-minute tour of Gadsby's Tavern. Be prepared to walk up several flights of stairs. Ours was a small, intimate group so that helped. It was interesting learning about one of Washington's favorite places to hang out back in the day. The tavern itself was closed during our visit, so we did not get to eat or have a drink there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    69
    14
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baldwinsville, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Another piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stopped here on our way out of town. Under an hour tour that gives you a feel of what it was like to live a few hundred years ago. A nice way to end a trip to Alexandria (we never went into DC once!).

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLJA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Try to remember where you are...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

...this is an old, historic, place! We searched our Gatsby's right away because we knew how historical it was with the liked of Washington and Jefferson being known to hang there. The "proprietor" was excellent telling us the history of the place and what is still original in the tavern--lots! Having just gotten off a plane, we were happy with our food, and ventured to try some "colonial"-type dishes including "Peanut Soup". (Not a knock on the food at the restaurant which was excellent, but could have passed on the soup. Tasted rich, like melted peanut butter.) Very nice meal! Go for the food, stay to hear the interesting stuff about the building, and remember the historic place you are sitting in.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sisugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant w/ 1700's theme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went for Valentine's Day. Menu is also fm 1700's, as are the wait staff costumes. Parking is on street or you need to find a garage. Reservations recommended, esp in summer. Not a place I'd go on a weekly basis, but nice for special occasions or tourists. Check out the museum next door as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank dawn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gadsby's Tavern Museum & Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Gadsby's Tavern is not only a museum. It is a restaurant with excellent food, with a colonial flair. For more information, visit: http://www.gadsbystavernrestaurant.com/

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Volunteer2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing