We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Powerful history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
$149.00*
and up
History of Old Town Alexandria Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 85 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
california
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Powerful history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

What a nice little tour! We were the only two people for the early morning tour but we found the guide and the young desk lady to be very personable and friendly.The guide gave us a great recommmendation for a lunch spot also

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank daveCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth a stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's small, it's fast, it's cheap -- and George Washington celebrated his birthday there! If you like American history and have a good imagination, then you will probably enjoy this little museum.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BenevolentD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love the history of this town and Gadsby's seemed to fit "the story" of "Old Alexandria". A lot to see and a lot of stairs to climb, but worth it. Our guide was great and our evening "ghost tour" brought us back to Gadsby's for even more history/stories.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RWM72942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Interesting bit of history...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Had a lovely tour of this tavern...lots of interesting information. Tour guide was a wonderful older gentleman who was very funny. Especially loved the two "ballrooms"...and the presidential history! A must visit! Next time I hope to eat at the Tavern (it was closed during the hours I visited).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielleMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Colonial and Early Federal Tavern”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This tavern, which I wish we had had time to eat at was a wonderful glimpse into Colonial life. In addition it was a site for early social events for Presidents Washington, Jefferson, and Madison. Jefferson's inaugral dance was held here, for instance. Another aspect that added to this building is that it is still used for community dances and social events. What a sense of history! Great value for $5!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lrswtsn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing