We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Great Historic Touch for Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
$149.00*
and up
History of Old Town Alexandria Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 80 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Great Historic Touch for Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Setting was authentic and the food was very appetising and reasonably priced. My wife enjoyed the General Washington porter beer. Staff were friendly

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Papa_Panda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    62
    11
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Candlelight tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went a candlelight tour the weekend of December 7. It was alot of fun with oldtime dancing demo. We did not eat. It was closed for the tour

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LeisureTraveler102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Candlelight tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was the best part of our tour. We saw a colonial dance demonstration and could participate if we wanted to.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddy54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Candlelight tour was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I would recommend this to anyone! Loved the English country dance demonstration, the hot chocolate sample, and picked up a beautiful pewter mug, as well.

My husband and I plan on coming back to visit again, but maybe during the daylight, just to experience the atmosphere a bit differently.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Boograss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Love this tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is my fave among the 4 sites we visited, too bad the adjacent Gadsby Tavern Restaurant was closed for special function, I would have loved to dine there too. We sampled some chocolate here too part of the historic division of Mars and the Historic Alexandria Candlelight tour. We enjoyed period music and dancing just as George Washington did. The tavern was built in 1785 and the other building was built as a hotel back in 1792, dont miss Room 8 and hear the story about a young woman who succumbed to a desease while traveling with her husband in 1816

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AsianBelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing