We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Candlelight tour.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
$149.00*
and up
History of Old Town Alexandria Walking Tour
Ranked #8 of 85 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
new jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Candlelight tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was the best part of our tour. We saw a colonial dance demonstration and could participate if we wanted to.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbuddy54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    65
    12
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crofton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Candlelight tour was awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I would recommend this to anyone! Loved the English country dance demonstration, the hot chocolate sample, and picked up a beautiful pewter mug, as well.

My husband and I plan on coming back to visit again, but maybe during the daylight, just to experience the atmosphere a bit differently.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Boograss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
198 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Love this tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is my fave among the 4 sites we visited, too bad the adjacent Gadsby Tavern Restaurant was closed for special function, I would have loved to dine there too. We sampled some chocolate here too part of the historic division of Mars and the Historic Alexandria Candlelight tour. We enjoyed period music and dancing just as George Washington did. The tavern was built in 1785 and the other building was built as a hotel back in 1792, dont miss Room 8 and hear the story about a young woman who succumbed to a desease while traveling with her husband in 1816

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank AsianBelle98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level Contributor
209 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Nice overview of hospitality in the 18th century”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

For an interesting history of hospitality in the U.S., this is a good spot. It's reasonable at $5 each (a $1 discount for AAA and AARP) and relatively short (45 minutes). 5 presidents visited, cool to walk where they did.

Helpful?
Thank jazzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Gadsby's is Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Gadsby's Tavern and Museum is a must see when visiting Old Town Alexandria. The museum is to the left of the tavern and is a gem. We stopped by just before they closed and Michelle, the tour guide, took us on the tour.

She was very informative and gave us a snapshot of life at a tavern during Colonial times. We looked at a couple of rooms that would have been used by traveling men and a room that ladies would have used. The highlight of the tour was the ball room that is located just above the dining area. It was the site of Thomas Jefferson's inaugural ball. Note the small baloncy where the musicians played and the tiny door leading to it. There are no steps to the door so a ladder would have been used to reach it.

The tour is a bargain at $5 per person!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hrpamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing