We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gadsby's Tavern Museum

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
134 N. Royal Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
703-746-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$55*
and up
Independent Half-Day Trip to Mount Vernon and Old...
Ranked #9 of 69 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Kingwood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The was a great place for food and a fun time with fine dining. We enjoyed a night with our family and felt very comfortable. The history of the place is very interesting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wayne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Washington DC
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely small museum with loads of Southern hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Gadsby's has done a great job of maintaining their space in Old Town, adding historical flavor and demonstrating tavern life old and new.

The museum and restaurant operate as two entities, so you'll need to reserve at both if you want to make two stops. We ate lunch in the private room at the restaurant with our group of 12. We enjoyed our tasty pre-fixe meal. After visiting the 'neccessary,' we walked next door to the museum. Michelle handled our group of boys perfectly. She kept them engaged, entertained and informed. She led a game at the end of the tour that could have gone on for hours. Definitely recommend a visit!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dc-cajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dinner at Gadsby's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had dinner recently at Gadsby's. The food was excellent and the decor is different to say the least. You have to see it to understand. Moderately priced and conveniently located in Old Town, Alexandria.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank fozziedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“fine food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Gadsby's staff made our visit to the tavern most enjoyable.
The food was great and reasonably priced. There was no rush to have us leave and this added to a most relaxing lunch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lou D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So Much to See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Excellent tour. There was so much to see from long ago. Everything was beautifully restored, and the building was in great condition.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#