We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour”

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Civil War History Walking Tour of Alexandria
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Old Town Alexandria Smartphone Photography Tour
Ranked #8 of 90 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Eden Prairie, MN
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great tour”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The tours here are nicely done and a perfect length - especially if your group includes young children. Next time I will combine it with either lunch or dinner in the working restaurant part of the Tavern! The Tavern is beautifully kept up and it's neat to see that it is still very much used as it had been in the past (with the exception of the common sleeping rooms!)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    77
    15
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dulles, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had my rehearsal dinner here 9 years ago. Decided to celebrate anniversary by going back. What a great evening. Service and food were great. Kids actually behaved themselves. Just a nice, calm and endearing place.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank cgray79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Hollywood, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food and a history lesson to boot!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This well-preserved establishment serves wonderful food. We had the Sunday morning brunch, which was delicious. Sadly, we missed any character actors who are sometimes available to mingle with the guests. But well worth the effort, regardless.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank sfvalleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A little disappointing”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I'm not sure what I was expecting but I felt the time could have been better spent. Not that our tour guide wasn't sweet and informative but I found myself bored which is very unusual for me when visiting historic places. The downstairs was far more interesting than upstairs.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dianeri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Assistant Director at Gadsby's Tavern Museum, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
I am sorry you did not have an enjoyable experience at the Museum. We strive to give an educational and entertaining tour that showcases the many different funcations that occurred in the tavern. We hope when you are back on the east coast, you would take advantage of our many programs and take a tour again. Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Kids loved it. Had private tour because we were the only ones. Restaurant was good, too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing