We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Slice of History”

Gadsby's Tavern Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Old Town Alexandria Smartphone Photography Tour
More Info
$15.00*
and up
Civil War History Walking Tour of Alexandria
Ranked #8 of 92 things to do in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century! Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel. The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby. Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and hosted the likes of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson. Today the Museum offers tours, programs and special events.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Again, this is worth a visit if you are in Old Town. It cost $5.00 per person and you have a guide who takes you through parts of both buildings. George Washington and Thomas Jefferson stayed here. Good for history buffs.

2  Thank plan2gosoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, Assistant Director at Gadsby's Tavern Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

I am so glad you had a great tour here at Gadsby's Tavern Museum! If you happen to be back in the area in February, you should definitely attend George Washington' Birthnight Banquet and Ball. Truly an experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 215 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

Short, but interesting tour. Hey, George Washington ate here, what more do you want.

Thank drthornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We were walking around old town Alexandria and happened on Gadsby's Tavern Museum. The tour was only $4 each with our AAA discount. What a delightful tour. It was short, maybe 20 minutes. But we learned a lot about the tavern and history of Alexandria. Would highly recommend it. There's a working restaurant in one of the buildings, but we had already eaten so we didn't try it, though would have liked to. The young man who gave us the tour was very knowledgeable about the archeological digs in the area.

1  Thank chicagotraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Gadsby's is important to the history of Alexandria because it has survived for a couple hundred years. It is one of the historic attractions that underpin Alexandria's reputation as a town with deep colonial history.

We visited with the Daisy troop and participated in a craft activity and dance lesson in the great room. The interpretation was not all that in depth, which might have been influenced by the exceptionally large group of 40 moms and daughters. I think that the girls understood the basic concept that life was different in the eighteenth century, but I'm not entirely sure.

I would probably come back with a smaller group to take a tour and see if there was more insight with fewer wriggly girls to content with. The price was extremely reasonable, so just walking through the historic building is worth the price of admission,

1  Thank fthuntfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, Public Relations Manager at Gadsby's Tavern Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2012

Glad you and your daughter had a fun time. Dancing in the Ballroom like George Washington is always a unique experience for anyone, let alone a whole Daisy troop! I would definitely come back for a regular tour or attend one of our family days this summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

George Washington slept here is their tag line..but so did John Adams and Thomas Jefferson his inaugural ball here after his election. The restoration is amazing and so much of it is authentic its amazing to step were so many men that shaped our country tread as well. I can only imagine the conversations that happened within those wall. The tour guide is charming and obviously know his history and loves the building. Our kids (boys ages 6 & 8) loved it as well and the guide engaged them at each exhibit. Alexandria is just outside of DC and worth a visit. We had lunch there as well. The servers were all in period costumes and the food was good as well. One of our favorite stops during our time here.

1  Thank RitaLyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz W, Public Relations Manager at Gadsby's Tavern Museum, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you so much for a great review of the Museum. I am so glad you and your family had a fun and educational experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gadsby's Tavern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Gadsby's Tavern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing