We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Our favorite escape room so far - scary fun with escape from temple.

Was in DC for family vacation and decided to visit Alexandria for brunch and some escape room fun... read more

Reviewed August 8, 2019
KhimLee
,
Belmont, California
Fun afternoon out of the sun

Nothing beats a heat wave like air conditioning and a room with no windows. Escape Quest has both... read more

Reviewed July 18, 2019
SwarthVader
,
Alexandria, Virginia
via mobile
Read all 139 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Alexandria
from $35.00
More Info
from $36.00
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveler rating
108
23
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
108
23
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black widow captain's quarters lost temple escape room king's ransom bunker room fun hour friends and co workers the staff was great waiting room a lot of fun an absolute blast great fun red herrings waiting area game master awesome experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 139 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2016

The employees at this location were great, especially Chris and Gregory. But towards the end of our game, the board did not light up like it was supposed to, which was frustrating. I booked through Groupon and was able to get my money back as a "one time thing."

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank bnj6pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2016

If you want to do a room with less people, then you'll have to pick one of the more challenging rooms. It's a great option to do to beat the heat and then grab lunch in Alexandria. We did not do one of the easier rooms, so not sure how it is with strangers.

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2016

Escape rooms have been in Europe for a long time and are relatively new in the U.S. We've been to a few in Europe, and because they've been around longer there they've got it figured out much better.

The lobby was very nice. The place was clean. It's in a great location -- easy to walk to restaurants & shops afterwards.

Our room was extremely hot. No one bothered to cool it down for us before we arrived. There was a remote in the room, but we couldn't tell if it was a clue or to actually operate the AC. It did turn out to be for the AC. It was so hot it was hard to really have a great time.

The staff was polite, but not friendly. The briefing took about 5 minutes, which is odd. Every other briefing we've been to has taken about 15 minute and is much more lively with happier people and a story and all that. Maybe these people aren't personally invested in the puzzle development like at other places and therefore have a hard time getting excited about it. This is more like a guy trying to get you to pick out a casket.

Our group had two strangers in it because there was still room left during our time slot. We've never had to share an escape room before. There should be some options for groups of 4 - 6. We liked our strangers, and they were smart, but it's hard to yell across the room to people you don't know. It's also hard to know what people's strengths and weaknesses are. And when you're stressing out, is this really the time you'd like to meet people and worry about being polite?

You have three lifelines to use in the room, which means you can ask for help 3 times. At other places, the person monitoring the room is very interactive and if you're really stuck they will help you along. At this place they have what looks like pre-written clues that they transmit over the monitor whenever you say "lifeline." Also, they might not address the specific problem you are having trouble with, because all you can say is "lifeline" and they choose what "lifeline" you get.

There's not a lot in the room to do, so if you get stuck, it's pretty boring. There isn't much to rifle through to look for clues, which is something that is superfun, especially for kids. It's basically just a series of padlocks that you have to figure out the codes to. Yep, that's about it. If you can't figure out the codes, then you're just sitting in the room with a bunch of padlocks. And you're so hot you honestly don't care if the world blows up.

I think what was really lacking about this escape experience is the utter lack of imagination in creating the puzzles. There wasn't much story. There were only a couple of things that didn't involve deciphering numeric codes. Furthermore, there are LOTS of numbers around the room and so many of them aren't even relevant. That was waste a lot of time. At other escape rooms, if you find a number, it's usually relevant. Not so, here. I swear we found about 15 series of numbers that had nothing to do with the puzzles at all. Sometimes we didn't even know how many numbers we were supposed to be looking for. That was frustrating.

We're a pretty smart group, we had doctors and engineers and artists -- so all parts of brain represented -- but we never got out. We got pretty uninspired because we couldn't find any more clues and we were just surrounded by a bunch of numbers and locks. When we asked for extra help, we just got "lol" on the monitor. Really?

There was no adrenaline rush at the end. At every escape we've been to before, it is down to the wire. Other places have got it figured out: how fast people normally work, where people need a little nudge, how to keep it just interesting enough so that every team can get that great rush at the end. We've not been able to break out of rooms before, but we have always been coaxed to the place where we at least have a shot if we can figure out ONE LAST THING, and we know what that thing is, and so it's really fun. This place, if you're out of lifelines, you could literally just sit there for the rest of the hour and no one would give one crap.

Also, there was a bathroom behind the door that says "authorized personnel only." You can't really tell if that door is part of the room or not. I opened it because it happened to be unlocked and it could have been part of the puzzle. It was a toilet. That's great, in case you have to go, but no one bothered to even mention it when they left us in there, as in, "Hey, if you need a bathroom, it's right there!"

If you give this place great ratings, it may be just because you haven't experienced a really good escape room.

I'm glad we went on a Living Social coupon.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank Lana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2016 via mobile

So, we decided to try this because the T.V. shows made it look fun. One of our group was scared she would look stupid the entire time. But, we got the directions on the goal of the game and how to escape the room and when things started we all jumped in and got to work. Even though we didn't know 1/2 the people in the room we quickly worked together to find clues and solve the puzzle. The 60 minutes passed quickly and enjoyably. Our team member who had been concerned about looking foolish was pleasantly surprised at how much she was able to contribute. I recommend this for a group outing, but not for younger kids. Oh, and bring your reading glasses if you occasionally wear them because you'll use them.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank lesliej985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

This was our first escape room and we were not disappointed . It was so much fun and I loved how our family had to work together to "escape ". I was initially concerned because our family of 6 was put in the room with two gentlemen we didn't know but it was perfect. They had done several rooms before and were very helpful. The location is very nice and the staff were great. Look for the Groupon ! We would definitely do again.We had people in our party from 9 to 69 and they all loved it, it was a little difficult for the 9 year old but still a great time .

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank BrittanyP38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews