We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good creperie in Old Town Alexandria”

Fontaine Caffe & Creperie
Ranked #63 of 759 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $17
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Join us for lunch, dinner, weekend brunch, or for Thursday French movie night. Fontaine is locally owned and operated causal European style restaurant is located in the heart of Old Town, Alexandria. Fontaine Caffe & Creperie serves Steak Frites, Mussels, Pates, Roasted Trout, Cheese, Vegetarian dishes, authentic savory and sweet French crepes paired with French Cidres in a casual European restaurant setting. Our carefully crafted seasonal menu, extensive craft beer and boutique wine selection, friendly service, and elegant, yet cozy, atmosphere makes Fontaine restaurant the perfect place to rendezvous with old friends and meet new ones.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good creperie in Old Town Alexandria”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having recently returned from Paris, France, we have been on the lookout for a good French restaurant. This is a very good creperie, with a few other dishes and salads. They offer a good Sunday brunch. The service is very friendly. Overall, if you close your eyes, you can actually think you are in Paris.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LuisF2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    52
    9
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Sunday brunch”
Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

Nice litte cafe just of te main drag in Old Town. The inside is small, so arrive early or you may have to wait a bit for a table. Tables are fairly small like typical European cages, so small groups of no more than 4 recommended. Crepes are delicious and te service is good. I look forward to many more Crepes for Sunday brunch in the future.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jjm1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Darling crepes, local business, affordable!”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I'm a long-time lunch customer and long overdue to review.

The savory crepes are my favorite and I have tried them all more than once. I haven't gone wrong once! The ingredients are fresh and the food comes fast to the table. They come with a little salad on the side and all together make for a healthy, but filling lunch for under $15. It's a downright bargain for Old Town!

The Zenist crepe (lentils, spinach, and tomatoes simmered in coriander coconut curry sauce) is divine; a favorite among my lunch-time friends.

The staff is great and the atmosphere is perfectly small-town. It's off the beaten path for tourists, but you'll have a waay better experience here than at the big chains like la Madeleine.

Don't forget to try out their sister-cafe next door, Petite Fontaine Salad & Co- create-your-own salads with amazing dressing and great choices. Not the same kind of bargain as the crepes, but definitely worth every penny!

It's not great for large parties (it's a small cafe, after all!), but I have never had any problems finding a table here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VacatingBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A taste of France”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wonderful crepes, both sweet and savoury. The Pear cider with the meal was delicious. We felt we were in a corner cafe somewhere in France. Friendly staff.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank eileen65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awesome crepes & cute ambience.”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great for Sunday brunch but they do not take reservations or more than 2 credit cards per party (only a problem if you are with a bigger group with multiple people paying).

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrmiscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontaine Caffe & Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Fontaine Caffe & Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing