We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basics”
Review of Aldie Store - CLOSED

Aldie Store
Restaurant details
Hampton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Basics”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Forgot something, get it here, including clothing. Ribs are good, make sure you get the BBQ sauce. Didn't like the macaroni and cheese.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank MsSheila8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    1
    5
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“High pressure BBQ and not going back”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I read an article in the Washington Post about this place about a year ago and decided to stop. As soon as we got to the food counter the owner started telling us of all the prepared meats the ribs were the best and why and the spices and the meat falls off the bone. He provided a sample which was ok. The rest was downhill ... he tried to pressure us into buying multiple slabs and why. At that point I was done, especially when I asked how much the ribs cost ($22). I told him it was too expensive and that we would try the chicken instead ($10 with 2 sides). The chicken was just ok. I hope the owner changes his approach or he will not have any repeat customers. I won't be going back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MeEncantaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Drive right by this place”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were lured by the smell of the BBQ cooking outside the vintage country store. Our first hint was that the inside of the store was hot and dirty - the food is in the back of the store. The chef/server/clerk was more like a used car salesman - he had quite the patter trying to convince us to try the ribs. We fell for it, placed our order and proceeded to sit at the fly covered picnic table outside. The ribs were undercooked and tough. The sides of mashed potatoes, cole slaw, overcooked beans and mac and cheese were something off a cheap buffet. The food is just bad....what a waste of $28.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginiabellarella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Ridge, VA
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stopped on our way home because we had read an article in WashPost about this establishment. My first impression was that the store was dirty. The food is all the way in the back. The cashier/cook/salesman was trying to push the ribs. He gave us a taste that was very good. We ordered one slab to take home. The cost was about $22 for one slab. He kept pushing us to buy more buy the slabs are really big so we decided on only one.

I am glad we only had one. The meat on the rib was tough, tasteless and clearly old meat. It tasted like lighter fluid and were very greasy. I ate one rib and felt sick (I was sick the rest of the night). I ended giving my dog some of the rib meat but it looks like it also made her sick.

I will avoid this place. For good barbecue go to Willard's, Carolina Brothers or Famous Dave's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VDeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolute worst!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stopped by last Friday and picked up a rack of ribs. The proprietor was talking so fast and non-stop that I could not understand him. I did hear "fall off the bone..." which would not be accurate. The ribs were tough as shoe leather and tasted terrible. After eating three ribs off the rack, I sliced off some meat for the dog and threw the rest out. Total waste!! Save your time and money - do not go here. For real BBQ, try Red, Hot and Blue in Leesburg.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aldie Store also viewed

Aldie, Loudoun County
Aldie, Loudoun County
 
Aldie, Loudoun County
Aldie, Loudoun County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing