We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“closeby” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Toad Hard Cider

Blue Toad Hard Cider
Ranked #5 of 6 Restaurants in Afton
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eagle, Idaho
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“closeby”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

good burgers and micro brews. the restaurant is only about 3 miles from the Afton Inn so if you arrive late in the day as we did and don't want to drive too far, this is a great option. There is a nice, big outside deck with a wide view of the valley.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank abcallahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    23
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“OK, but not outstanding....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant on Father's Day. It's clean and neat inside and has a patio for outside dining. We tried the patio, but it got hot quickly (no shade or umbrellas) so we asked to be re-seated inside. Our waiter was a young and personable guy and seemed to be doing his best, but there was some confusion about our orders, as he brought one of my daughters a chicken sandwich instead of the burger she ordered. The problem was quickly cleared up, however. The food was good, reasonably priced, and there is a huge craft beer selection. My biggest complaint was the time it took for lunch - over two hours from appetizer to dessert. The restaurant didn't seem to be that busy, and that time is excessive for a meal of burgers, fries, and onion rings. Maybe they were having a staff shortage. I would give it another try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tkdlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Kids loved the Playground”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The food was pretty good and the beer was fantastic. They had a lot of unusual beers that would be hard to find anywhere else. I thought the food was a little overpriced but they had a playground the kids loved. My only suggestion would be a sitting are for parents whose kids are playing on the playground.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lot's of micro-brews to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stopped here after leaving Blue Mt. Brewery to check it out. No
where near as crowded and they have 80 micro-brews to chose
from! We didn't eat here but the food we saw coming out looked
very good. Lots to chose from as far as food goes and the view is spectacular off the patio. They also have a playground for the
kids which is nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a shocking discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Who knew an Irish Pub would have such a yummy Sunday brunch? We were just about the only folks in there, but the staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was one of the best & most reasonably priced we found in the area. We were able to pick up a 6 pack of microbrews, too, to bring back home. Perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dianne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Toad Hard Cider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing