We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must stop in Charlottesville Wine Country - Great View”

Afton Mountain Vineyards
Book In Advance
More Info
$325.00*
and up
Private Winery Tours in Nelson County
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Afton
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must stop in Charlottesville Wine Country - Great View”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Have stopped at many Charlottesville wineries, and this is one of the best!

Great facility. Has a welcoming patio with beautiful views where you can sit and enjoy a glass of wine after tasting some wonderful vintages.

Our sommelier was outstanding! Very knowledgeable and extremely personable, she answered all of our questions ranging from the history of the winery to of course each vintage. We also felt like we got our money's worth with nice pours which really allowed you to sample their wonderful wines.

$6 to taste either whites or reds, and $10 to taste both.

We only tried the reds, and were very impressed. A nice Pinot in the French style, a bit lighter than U.S. Pinots, and very refreshing. We followed the Pinot with a Cab Franc and then a Petit Verdot, and finally my favorite, and unique to the region, is a "Super Tuscan" named Festa di Bacco. Made from Sangiovese, Cab Franc, Petit Vedot and Merlot, grapes all grown on property, it is very impressive for a Virginia varietal. Great body and finish!

We were also impressed by the rest of the staff who were super friendly and helpful. We got a great tip for lunch, Dr Ho's Humble Pie, in North Garden, VA.

If you're in the Charlottesville wine country, and near the Afton corridor, stop by Afton Mountain.

As they like to say, "Grapes don't grow in ugly places."

Very true, and we will be back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JW110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter S, Public Relations Manager at Afton Mountain Vineyards, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks for your great review! We're glad that you enjoyed your visit, our wines, and the pizza recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    49
    14
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morehead City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“attractive vineyard with great facilities”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We tasted 5 each of reds and whites and were pleasantly surprised. My partner was looking for a possible venue for her daughter's upcoming wedding, so our mission was two-fold...the wines were good and the Tuscany styling of the facilities make it a great possibility for a wedding site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrystalCoasBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
98 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place ”
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Excellent wines and spectacular views. Please follow the rules though with reservations for larger groups and no outside alcoholic beverages. The rules are there for a good reason but then people want special treatment and write poor reviews when it was their fault! This is a must see if you are in the area.

Helpful?
1 Thank bsedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunter S, General Manager at Afton Mountain Vineyards, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We strive to offer a quality tasting room experience in a beautiful setting with great wines. Our customers appreciate this approach and we thank you for helping us to promote it. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
346 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
“Very friendly!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We did our own wine tour while visiting Wintergreen Resort. This is a beautiful place, and the staff was very friendly. We did a tasting and got a nice wine glass. The grounds are nice to walk around and enjoy the scenery. We can't wait to go back again!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyt62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Posh yet relaxing”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I visited Afton Mountain Vineyards in early October. The scenery was just spectacular. We drove from Richmond just wanting to hit a few vineyards on a Saturday, and we were thrilled to find this place first. Having never been to a wine tasting before I was a little apprehensive when we walked in, not knowing where to go or what to do. Someone greeted us and was helpful to direct us to the tasting room where we tried some reds and whites, which were all delicious and very different from one another. Some people relaxed on the stone veranda while others participated in what looked like mini wine lessons. We got out for about $27 and hit a few more places after that. A great destination.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaddyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Afton Mountain Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing