We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 4 Afton B&B and Inns
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Le Bleu Ridge is very conveniently located in beautiful countryside, immediately next door to the Flying Fox winery. We stayed in the cabin as Danielle was away for the weekend, so we didn't get to try the famed breakfasts. Her daughter did check-in and was very friendly and helpful.
The cabin is very comfortable and clean, huge bed, good aircon, but a few niggles. No hanging space (unless you count the hatstand in the corner), and we found the satellite TV channel offerings a bit odd. The minibar/kitchenette has a microwave, toaster and fridge, though the butler's sink does dual service as the bathroom sink.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodhake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
51
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Staying at Le Bleu Ridge was my first experience in a B&B...and it was awesome. I stayed in the cottage (highly recommended) and it was well-appointed, clean, with cable, wifi, and all the things you'd get in a luxury hotel.
The innkeepers Danielle and Marcel are not only nice people, but are meticulous about their property without being fussy. You really feel like you're staying at a good friend's home.
Danielle prepares breakfast daily with products from the garden and everything is locally sourced.
This surroundings of this property are breathtaking, I could not believe the amount of beauty in this part of Virginia. I really look forward to an opportunity to stay here again!

Room Tip: I recommend the private cottage, it's private, quiet, and like having your own private cabin in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyButta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Republic
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stay at B & B's almost everywhere we visit. I must say that this was one of our most memorable. The host's are wonderful people and couldn't have been any nicer. We were fortunate enough to be the only ones staying this week so we had Danielle all to ourselves. The breakfast's were absolutely amazing and stayed with us all day. All fresh, local and healthy. We didn't eat lunch a single day on our trip and we were still full by dinner. The location is perfect and the views are beautiful. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank out3650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very rarely do we leave home and experience the comfort we did while staying at Le Bleu Ridge. The location was perfect for our trip touring the local breweries and wineries. Check-in was seamless the evening we arrived. Breakfast was the BEST. Ever. I don't know how to explain it in words but it is an experience. Fresh, local, and made with love. Danielle was completely flexible and willing to work with any diet. Multiple courses for breakfast was just what we needed to get our day started right. We enjoyed the laid back, family style breakfast which gave us the opportunity to meet the other lodgers and have great conversation about our experiences in the area.
While this trip was for our anniversary, we are already planning a "just because" trip for the fall!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage but toured each of the rooms. I don't think you can go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-geez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My daughter and I took a 3 day mother and daughter trip to say her goodbyes to Virginia. I traveled from Florida. Le Bleu Ridge was the perfect place and we felt we had found somewhere very special. Danielle and Marcelle are wonderful, warm, witty and considerate of their guests. The rooms are clean, beautiful, well appointed and so comfortable. The inn is located next to a nice winery and have several more excellent ones close by. There is a beautiful walk down a road by the inn to help you enjoy the local scenery. They help with suggestions and see to your every comfort. And the breakfast - just an adventure in excellent healthy food and 4 courses! . Danielle is a wonderful cook and Marcelle her great assistance. I have been a guest in many b and b's but this was the best experience ever. Danielle, Marcelle and Muffin feel like dear friends. You will love it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Blue Moon, I think any would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TallahasseeJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a great time staying at Le Bleu Bed and Breakfast. Danielle, our host was very helpful and charming. Her breakfast was farm fresh local, a real treat for us city folks. We will definitely stay again.
Rose M

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Le Bleu Ridge is a lovely B&B in a beautiful spot. There is easy access to hiking, wineries, and breweries. We hiked Humpback Rocks and Crabtree Falls, which were easy drives from LBR. We took a winery/brewery tour with Tours for Tunes and went to Veritas, Cardinal Point, Hilltop, and Wild Wolf. The owners of LBR are wonderful, the room was clean, and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blurrydurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
9.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
Comfort Inn Waynesboro
#4 of 9 in Waynesboro
4.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
2.9 mi away
Afton Mountain Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
The Mark Addy
The Mark Addy
#1 of 2 in Nellysford
4.5 of 5 stars 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Iris Inn
Iris Inn
#1 of 6 in Waynesboro
5.0 of 5 stars 670 reviews
14.6 mi away
The Inn at Sugar Hollow Farm
9.1 mi away
Belle Hearth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast

Property: Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast
Address: 27 Chapel Hollow Rd, Afton, VA 22920-3132
Location: United States > Virginia > Afton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Afton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We will be delighted to welcome you at Le Bleu Ridge Bed and Breakfast: “Your Healthy Homey Hospitality in the Virginian Blue Ridge Mountains”. We offer organic and comfy beds in the cute Mankin House cottage, the romantic Blue Moon Room, or the Sunset Room, and delicious breakfasts made with fresh, organic local and seasonal ingredients. Our holistic approach extends to all elements surrounding our guests’ stay: whether it is the mattress you dream in, the wood floor you walk on, the water you drink, etc. We cater to everyone, but we distinguish ourselves in our ability to accommodate guests with special dietary needs, such as diabetes, gluten allergies, food and environmental sensitivities. Le Bleu Ridge is located inside the former Page House Estate, 1840, on the Nelson County 151 trail in Nelson County. Our neighbors include The Flying Fox Tasting Room, wineries, breweries, local restaurants, and local farmers. Virginia is for Lovers… Le Bleu Ridge is where they sleep! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing