We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for lovers! Great stay for small families!”
Review of White Birches Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Birches Inn
Ranked #4 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 5, 2010

My friend, Susanne, my 12-year-old son and I enjoyed a beautiful stay at White Birches Inn this Spring! We were in Abingdon to enjoy the Virginia Creeper Trail (downhill mountain biking) and Abingdon's historical beauty! Mike and Paulette were fabulous hosts! They both enjoyed the company of my son and he loved their kindness and good humor. Mike and Paulette not only went out of their way to make my son feel comfortable, but, as parents of 3 sons of their own, they had fun talking to him and showing him how to use their antique phone on the back porch! Also, after we'd checked out, Mike drove out to find us where we were downtown to return a personal item we'd left in our room! "You can't get service like that at a Holiday Inn!!" :) We loved meeting and sharing breakfast conversation with Mike and Paulette! Our room, the Porterfield, was roomy, cozy with it's fireplace, and luxurious with the whirlpool bathtub! Can't wait to stay there again! - Linda Fajardo, Ft. Lauderdale, FL

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LindasJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 121 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2010

This was our third visit to this B & B and we are already planning our return trip not only this August but next year as well. Michael and Paulette are gracious hosts and their home is clean and beautifully decorated - which each room being a unique experience. The setting is very peaceful - complete with a coy pond and an open air porch on which to relax. Their knowledge of the surrounding area and the restuarant recommendations have been right on each time. Even with a full house, they manage to treat each guest as if they are the only ones there and get to know your names and your preferences over the years. We would highly recommend this for both business and pleasure trips and we thank our inn keepers for the wonderful experience they have provided year after year.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OhioScoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

The White Birches Inn is a delightful turn of the Century old house Inn, Clean and neat, but not worth the amount asked per night. Other Inns in the area are newer, nicer, and are better places to stay for the same price. The Air conditioning is by zone and not by room, which left a lot to be desired since you could not change it. Paulette lets her political views be well known and I like my inn-keepers politically neutral and since I am the one paying the price of the evening and I am trying to get away from politics. Michael and Paulette have done magical things to make the inn comfortable but the cluttered English Decorating Style left much to be desired. The shower in our room had mold but the tub was brand new. The bed was wonderful and the place was very clean overall but the paint needs a new top-coat almost everywhere. All in all, a passable Inn but a bit overpriced. The gardens were especially nice and it is clear that Michael has worked hard to make it special.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Porsche944S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

This was our first experience staying at a B&B and it was everything I had hoped it would be. We stayed in the Thornton Wilder room and it was lovely. I was somewhat hesitant about breakfast being that I am somewhat shy but it was delightful, with great conversation. The pictures on the website must be somewhat older because the Inn is really nicer than they show. The dining room seats ten and the china and settings are beautiful. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Michael and Paulette are the most congenial hosts you could ask for. They anticipated our every need and their inn and gardens are first class. We were going to get married in Scotland orginally, but the paperwork was taking longer than planned. Our backup for a stateside service was to be married at the White Birch Inn. The surroundings, and Michael's private, secular service (as we requested), was most loving and memorable. Scotland ended up being the honeymoon with the perfect send-off from the White Birch Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jonesborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Abingdon, where we spent two delightful nights at the White Birches Inn. Owners Paulette and Mike got our theatre tickets for us, had a walking tour map waiting for us with their recommendations for sightseeing, and answered all our questions about the area. We stayed in the lovely George Bernard Shaw Room. The bed was so comfortable, the room temp was just right. There were cookies and candy waiting for us. My husband liked the shower and I poached happily in the deep spa tub. We loved having the complementary refrigerator in the living room not too far from The Shaw Room. So handy! Although four of the five guest rooms were occupied, the beautiful inn was nice and quiet for our much anticipated and restful weekend. I can't decide what we liked the best about White Birches -- the helpfulness of our hosts; the fabulous and magical garden; the garden room for reading, a glass of wine and conversation; the candlelit gourmet breakfasts, where guests lingerd afterward for chatting and coffee. Just walking around the house and looking at the lovely antiques and collections was a treat. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GallopingGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed one night and enjoyed this beautiful home and gardens. The bed was very comfortable although the room was a bit warm. The bathroom was clean as was the whole place. It also had a lovely back porch and yard. It would be a great place to stay for several days to "let down." The hosts were very helpful and friendly. It is convenient to town and there are ample places to walk. The one morning we were there breakfast was French toast (white bread) and sausage. No whole grains, no protein option for vegetarians. That was my only complaint. Otherwise it's a wonderful place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank FatherMckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.7 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
Summerfield Inn
Summerfield Inn
#7 of 16 in Abingdon
17 reviews
1.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
495 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Birches Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Birches Inn

Address: 268 Whites Mill Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-2900
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: $159 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Birches Inn is the only bed & breakfast in Abingdon, VA that can offer you a king-size bed, in-room fireplace, oversized whirlpool tub, and a private walk-in tiled shower. Our personalized service and luxurious accommodations are a wonderfully inviting alternative to typical hotel lodging.Complementary beverages which include beer and wine. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing