We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, very comfortable, great food, wonderful innkeepers”
Review of Summerfield Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summerfield Inn
Ranked #6 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Belmar, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very clean, very comfortable, great food, wonderful innkeepers”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Janice and Jim are just fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. If you are visiting Abingdon you should not stay anywhere else. The Inn is extremely clean and comfortable. The living room, dining room and front porch areas are perfect for resting and relaxing with a cup of coffee or glass of wine; the guest rooms are very well appointed, super clean and comfortable; and the food is exceptional. Easily the best food I have ever had at a B&B.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Beautiful old home with small comfortable rooms. While breakfast was very good, that's about it. No snacks, no deserts, no soft drinks, not even a bottle of water. Comfortable beds. Compared with other B&B's we've visited it wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We arrived in a snow squall and the temp dropped to 14 degrees. However the warmth of the 1920s built home filled with wonderful antiques killed the chill. Since we had a cousins gettogether we brought our own wine and snaks. This location was central for widely separated family members. Lots of room for a gathering wonderful background music. Also the place is central for walking in Ole Town Abingdon. The down side is that this place is pricey for what you get. They could offer a PM social with wine/tea and appetizers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim11502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

First of all, let me say that my husband and I usually stay at a chain hotel as we belong to their club. Boy, have we changed our minds as this B & B experience was memorable! We just spent two nights at the lovely Summerfield Inn. What a great experience! The Inn rooms are all nice and it's so clean and well-kept. Our room was in the Carriage House and the Parsonage rooms are on the second story of the main house. You really can't go wrong with any of the rooms as they each have their own unique charm. We stayed at The Martha Washington Inn last time and our room was over-priced and not real clean. The Summerfield Inn is just around the corner from the Barter Theatre and within walking distance to most of the restaurants. You will really be in for a treat! Jim and Janice are very efficient and welcoming. Upon our arrival, Janice had our theatre tickets ready, and gave us a tour of the downstairs rooms available for guests to relax in such as the living room, porch, snack area and breakfast room. Speaking of breakfast, Janice is really quite the gourmet cook and took great care to have a beautifully set table. She cooks, and Jim serves it up. The first day, we had a fresh fruit bowl, then delicious oatmeal waffles! (I may try to get that recipe!) The second morning, we had another bowl of fresh fruit, eggs in a crispy hash brown basket (looked like a bird nest!) and oatmeal scones-yummy! These folks are wonderful hosts and will recommend things to do in the area as well as make restaurant reservations for you. (Don't miss the Tavern-it was our favorite!) The Rain Restaurant was also enjoyable. Also, the pottery coffee mugs at the Inn were so special that I bought four of them. The only negative of this trip was leaving!! We miss the Cowan's hospitality and Janice's breakfasts already. We hope to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

We were in town for a wedding at the Martha Washington Inn and didn't want to pay the rates at the historic hotel. We didn't make reservations in advance- just called a few minutes before arrival and secured a room. We were the only ones there for the night and had a very comfortable stay. It was extremely clean and the bed was comfortable.

The shower and bathroom were nicely stocked with complimentary toiletries and the room was comfortable and quiet (we chose one of the rooms on the back). There were sodas and bottled water offered at our convenience. I saw an earlier post about no refreshments, but they were offered.

In the morning we woke up to the house smelling of coffee and bacon! Yum. We had breakfast in the sunroom of this immaculate home-- coffee, tea, juice, fresh strawberries with yogurt, then an omlette (stuffed with cinnamon apples and Swiss- strange but delicious), bacon, grits and cranberry/orange scones. Janice was very friendly and easy to talk to.

We spent some time in the rocking chairs on the wraparound porch and walked the beautifully landscaped grounds.

Very nice place to stay-- it's also within walking distance to all there is to see in Abingdon. Very nice B&B.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sascha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Spent 1 evening & made the mistake of accepting a front bedroom. Not being used to traffic noise, we got little sleep. No special amenities to make guests feel welcome. Having stayed in B & B's before, an afternoon tea or wine with appetizers was expected but not forthcoming. Nothing special like homemade cookies or a fridge stocked with sodas & water. Adequate room space but not worth the price of the stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satchel56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Wonderful Inn, right in the middle of town easy access to everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Porsche944S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerfield Inn

Property: Summerfield Inn
Address: 101 West Valley Street, Abingdon, VA 24210
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing