We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Restoration”
Review of A Tailor's Lodging

A Tailor's Lodging
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Tailor's Lodging
Ranked #3 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
vienna, virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restoration”
Reviewed October 14, 2009

Abingdon is a great little town with the Barter Theatre to satisfy cultural longings and the Creeper Trail to keep one in shape. But one of the great features of this historic place is the restored B and B named after long-ago tailors who inhabited it. But they wouldn't recognize the place since it is so beautifully restored. We stayed in the downstairs room which was quite large. We fell in love with the shower, with its walls of stone and dark basin. The kitchen was a work of art, with detailed craftsmanship on the new cabinets to match an antique sideboard. Really unusual attention to detail. We'd certainly pay a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Georgia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2008

This bed and breakfast is one of the best we've ever stayed in. We stayed in the cottage they call room #3, comfy bed, nice sitting area with tv, kitchenette with snacks and coffee, full bath, all very clean. Beautiful landscaping. Within walking distance of Barter Theatre and The Tavern restaurant (a fabulous combination for an evening). Innkeepers are a dream. Tips: cottage ideal for two, three would be a crowd. If you eat at the Tavern tell them you have theatre tickets and they will pick up the pace (not fast food, but great food). The herb cheese stuffed steak with wine reduction sauce is great. Breakfast is continental style pastries and good coffee, fine with us. We've been to Abingdon before and stayed other places, this is now our favorite!

Helpful?
2 Thank dbarrett2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, NC 28697
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

We always look for a place with a covered porch. Especially a private covered porch. When out of town there is nothing worse than looking out the window on a rainy day. Not the case here. Beautiful sitting areas.
We enjoyed riding the Virginia Creeper. There is great access to it and bike rentals. Rick and Susan can recommend some.
The bed we slept in was the most comfortable I have ever slept in anywhere. Beautiful kitchen with a well stocked cupboard if you like to snack.
Could not have more knowlegable people about the area. Rick and Susan were very helpful with restaurant choices and they were right on thier recommendations.

Thanks, John and Nancy

  • Liked — Covered Porch
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnandNancy2140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, TN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2008

We're seasoned travelers who've never felt the urge to leave a review. But a week at this incredible home must be praised! Behind the scenes were our gracious hosts Susan and Rick. We were spoiled by turn-down service, chocolates, and a kitchen stocked daily with gourmet treats. (We each gained four pounds and only ate one meal away each day.)
We were tempted by all three distinct lodging choices but felt most at home in Room II. We had the entire downstairs to ourselves in this huge, perfectly furnished room. French doors led to our private covered porch. Fantastic rock shower and separate vanity area were just ideal for getting ready quickly for two memorable evenings at The Barter Theatre. The bed was so heavenly that one cool, rainy afternoon, I plumped up my four pillows and settled in for a good read with the fireplace flickering for company. Best afternoon--priceless! Susan and Rick, keep the candles burning--we can't wait to return.

  • Liked — Perfect in every way!
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank parisinmymind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

Great little location within walking distance of everything! The Bed and Breakfast owners are awesome and full of knowledge of the area and great recommendations.The kitchen is stocked with food, drinks, liquor and the breakfast of fruit and pastries is super! The place is very clean and kept up. Would suggest to anyone. Prime location and resonable prices!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lmcdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
179 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Tailor's Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Tailor's Lodging

Property: A Tailor's Lodging
Address: 119 Park St SE, Abingdon, VA 24210-3309
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing