We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection In Every Way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Copper Lantern Boutique Inn
Ranked #1 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding...I cannot say enough good things about the Inn and those precious ladies! Betty and Kim made sure everything was just perfect for us, they left us balloons, champagne with strawberries, a cake, fresh white and pink peonies (which were our wedding flowers and colors!) and a little card congratulating us! We stayed in the Washington Suite and it was perfection...from the copper tub, to the massive walk-in shower, and the bed that slept like a dream. Our breakfast was delicious....banana fosters pancakes, fresh fruit, and bacon...we woke up to the wonderful aroma filling the house! We are from the area, only 15 minutes down the road, but we WILL for sure be back!

Love,
The Weavers :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 220 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our first overnight visit to Abingdon, VA and after searching B&Bs in the area I called the Copper Lantern Inn and spoke with Betty. Immediately I was drawn to her very pleasing personality on the phone and looked forward to meeting her. Well, we were not disappointed. Betty, Roy and Kimberly were the ultimate hosts! GREAT folks who have the gift of knowing how to entertain their guests. We immediately felt at home as we enjoyed conversation and cheese/crackers on the front porch of their beautiful home. The Inn is beautifully decorated as well as the grounds and we thoroughly enjoyed listening to Betty explain how the themes of each room. I particularly enjoyed the Capt. Roy Aker's Military Room that Kimberly dedicated in honor of her Father. As for breakfast, it was a group effort on the part of Betty, Roy and Kimberly and they out did themselves. It was awesome and was the first time we had tried lightly fried thick sliced tomatoes in olive oil which were delicious. This was truly five star accommodations and dining at its best! We look forward to our next visit to Copper Lantern Inn and enjoying more of the uniqueness that Abingdon, VA has to offer.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house; however, we stayed in the Washington Room which was simply the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grainger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My husband was planning a special weekend to celebrate our anniversary, and the original centerpiece of our weekend was a bike ride on the Creeper Trail. But after doing his research, (and he is a very meticulous researcher) the Inn quickly became the central point of a lovely weekend away. Betty became our impromptu travel agent, helping plan some lovely dinners and finding a bike outfitter that was only blocks from the inn. From the moment we got there, Betty and Kim made us feel like family, although truthfully they fed us way better than my family usually does, no offense MMom! From welcoming snacks and drinks when we staggered in from our long drive, to incredible breakfasts to fortify us for biking or hiking, to water bottles and granola bars for the trail, they made sure we were never hungry or thirsty. And although they could't prevent us from being tired after our expeditions, the inn itself is the most marvelous place to rest and rejuvenate! Our room had an amazing copper lined soaking tub that is truly the most comfortable tub this long-legged girl has ever been in, and I actually fell asleep, briefly, listening to the late afternoon rain patting on the roof and gazing out the window at the beautiful garden. There are wonderful little nooks to read and relax in, the decor is in that sweet spot where it is neither spare nor fussy, the bed is comfortable without swallowing you, and altogether, we decided that the Copper Lantern Inn, and the wonderful innkeepers, were the main reason to consider a second visit to this charming corner of Virgina.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Upon first entering the inn, we were greeted by happy dogs and warm hosts. We immediately felt at home and the stress meter went to zero. The setting is beautiful as is the 1873 house. Breakfast was delicious and creative each day. Wine and hors d'oeuvres on the front porch reminded us of the advantages of a slower paced life. A truly romantic and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I have visited Abingdon several times in the past year and we always return to the Copper Lantern. Betty and Kim are truely wonderful ladies who love to welcome people into their beautiful home. This last stay was with friends from Colorado and everything was perfectly arranged - tapas and wine on the front porch, dinner and tickets to the theater all handled for us in advance. Thank you ladies. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just got back from an absolutely wonderful weekend at the Copper Lantern. We were so welcomed - I was celebrating a birthday, and the Lantern Ladies surprised me with a fantastic birthday cake! Everything from the delicious breakfasts, recommendations for restaurants and things to do, and just chatting over wine and playing with their adorable dogs made it a very special experience and a welcome respite from our usual crazy lives. And the location is right in the heart of the historic district, and only 4 blocks from the start of the Virginia Creeper trail. We stayed in the George Washington room - wow; just so amazing and comfortable at the same time. And on top of everything, the ladies gave us a "to-go" bag of goodies for the trek back to DC! I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

You will never regret staying at The Copper Lantern Inn. The hospitality is beyond any expectations. Class and quality combined with a genuine friendliness and charm. They can fix anything and you can trust their recommendations. This is truly a very special B&B. I repeat, you will never regret staying at The Copper Lantern Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GryA477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
1 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
502 reviews
1.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA
0.1 mi away
Summerfield Inn
Summerfield Inn
#7 of 16 in Abingdon
17 reviews
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Lantern Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Lantern Boutique Inn

Address: 133 Valley St NE, Abingdon, VA 24210-2832
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: $200 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copper Lantern Boutique Inn is a haven away from home. Built in 1873, the inn is located on East Valley Street in the Heart of Abingdon and is within walking distance of all the local major attractions. This Georgian Colonial is decorated in a warm and comfortable, yet elegant style. It is a place of real Southern hospitality with all of the luxurious amenities and comforts of the modern day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing