We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay again”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times, but never again. We got there at 10pm with reservations. It was 19 degrees outside and there was no heat turned on in the room. They don't turn on the heat in order to save money, but they had our money whether we showed up or not, so why not turn on a little heat? We were freezing and had to immediately get under the covers. My husband wouldn't even watch TV because he didn't want to pull his arm out of the covers to change the channel. The heater is a dial heater, so we had it all the way up and finally at 2am I had to get up and turn it down. It took 4 hours to warm up the room! The main areas of the hotel look nice, but the room we had was run down. The curtain was torn, the picture was off the wall, the paint was splotchy on the walls, and the shower curtain rod had been pulled away. The desk attendant said the hotel had been recently renovated. I guess they forgot that room? One positive note, the breakfast was perfect. Just wanted everyone to know what you get (a good breakfast) or don't get (heat) for $97. I felt ripped off for that amount of money. There are plenty of other hotels to chose from in Abingdon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank imnva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 210 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family and I got in around 11:00 on the evening of New Years Day. I asked the desk attendent if we could stay away from the elevator, and she accommodated our request. She told us that the staff usually warms the rooms up for their guests, so she'd need to go up there to turn on the heat since we were not scheduled to stay in the room we got (nice touch). The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The next morning we woke up about 8:30 and remembered that breakfast is served from 6-9am. We walked downstairs to find a good amount of food, and the staff member there asked us if we wanted anything else (doughnuts, muffins, eggs, sausage, etc) since they were low on a few items. The staff was very kind, and it is likely we will stay there again because of the hospitality we were shown, the nice rooms, and the complimentary breakfast ... however, we'll have to remember to bring our swimsuits to use the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_Crew_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My husband and I were traveling back from our wedding when we stopped there for the night. When we left the hotel the next day, I forgot my wedding bouquet in our room. We called them later in the afternoon and asked them to find it for us. They were able to find the bouquet and arrange for them to ship it back to us. The staff was so wonderful in working with us and personally took the package to the UPS store so I can receive my bouquet. I am ever so grateful for them, it meant so much to us!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chishols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My family of 5 spent the night here traveling from Alabama to West Virginia. We stayed in the 2 queen bed room and enjoyed the free breakfast the next morning. The room was large and the pull out couch was nice for our youngest son to have his own bed. The staff were very friendly and accomidating. The breakfast was above average and the attendant helped my children with suggestions and instruction during breakfast. We did not utilize the pool or workout area since we were only passing through, but it looked very nice and the entire property seemed very clean.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wwilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Manager was very accomadating when we had a family emergency. We had to make a room change from two rooms down to one. The manager was very understanding and helpful. Thanks you so much! Nice hotel and great service, we were very happy with our accomadations.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin101912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I am writing to compliment the front desk staff and management. They were easy to talk to and assisted me with my reservations. They were prompt and followed through with return calls when needed. It was nice to have an easy experience over the phone because we made plans long distance. Very willing to accommodate my needs!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were taking our grandson to a play at the Barter Theater, and wanted to stay in Abingdon the night before. This reservation was made by accident with HotelReservations.com. These people by the way told me that another hotel I requested was unavailable and that was not true.That was a BAD experience. To get to the info about COMFORT SUITES!! It was much better than I expected, The hotel was clean, the pool area was clean (we did go swimming), the breakfast was fine, and the gentleman who checked us in was extremely nice and helpful. The next morning the young lady, who was at the front desk, was also nice. They were very willing to help us in any way possible. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It is located near a great pizza restaurant as well as downtown Abingdon. Ask for rm 156
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhebasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
4.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
190 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
8.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1093 Ole Berry Rd, I-81 exit 14, Abingdon, VA 24210-4739
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#4 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: $103 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Abingdon
Comfort Suites Abingdon
Abingdon Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing