We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Can't Believe I Ate The Whole Thing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Ranked #3 of 89 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $44
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I Can't Believe I Ate The Whole Thing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The experience was like a step back into the era of the American Revolutionary War. Oldest building I've even been in! Amazing!

But I'm sure Colonial Patriots never ate like this! They wouldn't have been able to get up a hill! The chef is amazing. I had the filet medallions and my wife had the lamb. Lamb is difficult to "get just right", but she shared her meal and words cannot express how tender, juicy, and perfectly seasoned! The filet was amazing as well. Salads are included with the entree price - as well as a vegetable side. Enormous proportion of food. It hurt … but I had to have dessert.

We left as members of "the clean plate club" - but were miserable for it! This was one of the best dining experiences of my life. The staff is extremely nice and cordial. The owner, himself, even visited our table. The residents in Abingdon are the nicest people we've ever met.

If you're in Abingdon and have never been to The Tavern, it is a "must" reservation! You'll be talking about it for years!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robyneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    107
    31
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Meadowview, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner with our niece and her husband while we celebrated our anniversaries. Carla took extra special care of us, and we even were treated to an appetizer, "on the house." We loved the fried green tomatoes and enjoyed sharing our experiences since this was their first time there. Sitting outside on the upstairs porch provided a nice relaxing atmosphere. Everyone was so professional and courteous. Our meals were delicious. We always enjoy going to The Tavern!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Colonial Tavern in the Historic District”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

You'll think you are in a Colonial Williamsburg Tavern, only more authentic. The Tavern is the oldest building in Abingdon with wonderful colonial American ambience ...it's worth a visit for this alone.

Service is quite good, the menu is varied and, reflecting the owner's heritage, includes a few German selections. The wine list is fair, but you'll find something suitable.

The food is very well prepared, presented and delicious, albeit rich!

Give them a try, relax and enjoy the ambience. Ask to be seated on one of the covered porched weather permitting.

Bon appetite

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HaroldB104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mineola, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We make a special trip to dine here.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

When my husband and I travel from TX to DC (at least 3-4 times a year), we always make plans to stay the night in Abingdon, VA JUST to eat at The Tavern. It's beyond charming, ducking beneath low thresholds and sitting in little niches, and eating fabulous food in a historic building. Romantic for sure! The little bar is quaint, too. Just like you'd expect in the English or Irish countryside - all history and romance without the touristy kitsch. Excellent wait staff - and again, the meals are incredible.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The stuffed filet is amazing! Every time we have been there the potatoes have been excellent, except the most recent...they ran out of baked and substituted it with scalloped potatoes that were under cooked, and did not ask, prior to making the substitution. But out of 5 visits that is the only complaint I have! If you like Mojito's, the bartender Amanda makes the best! We have eaten in an upstairs room, the main dining room, and out on the patio, we enjoyed all 3 and are thankful for 3 different experiences! This will probably be our "special occasion" spot in Abingdon, VA!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LaineVIrginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing