We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must experience while in Abingdon”
Review of The Tavern

The Tavern
Ranked #2 of 90 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $44
Cuisines: Austrian, German, Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must experience while in Abingdon”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The food was fantastic. The history of the building was
very interesting to see and learn about. Small family feel with personal service

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PioneerCamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    111
    34
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent food, atomosphere, but slighly rude hostess”
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We were overall quite pleased with the restaurant. We did call for reservations a day before we came up to Abingdon. We ended up walking to the restaurant from our hotel and got to the Tavern at 6:40 even though our reservations were at 7:30 pm. The hostess was pretty rude and reminded us we were early for our reservations. She said we would not be able to be seated for at least 30 minutes although we saw vacant tables. We sat at the bar and were conveniently forgotten about. We saw several couples be seated who came early for reservations. We reminded her we had been sitting there for a while. The owner could not have been nicer and took us to a balacony table where again there were vacant tables. Our waitress was exceptional as was the food. I had the jumbalaya which was excellent. It is definitely worth eating there just watch out for that hostess.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flasharchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeneville, Tennessee
1 review
“A favorite place to dine”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We eat at the Tavern when in Abingdon to attend Barter Theatre. It is always a special treat to eat there. We have always found the food delicious and the staff accommodating. We always recommend it to first time visitors.

  • Visited November 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luckylady1816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Historic Atmosphere”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Tavern offers good food and a unique, historic atmosphere. The food was very good with a varied an typical menu selection (steaks, crab cakes, seafood, chicken dishes, etc.). There were also a number of specials available. Be prepared to pay a bit more than most places. The beer list was decent with a number of popular brands and unique microbrewery selections. The Tavern was gracious in hosting our large party in town for a weekend wedding in a private upstairs room.

Our one criticism would be that the service was not quite up to par. We had a new waitress seving our two tables. She was struggling in her new job and did not receive a lot of support. Our impressions were that this service was the exception and not the norm.

Overall, the Tavern offers a unique dining experience and is a solid choice for a quality meal in Abingdon.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BobandRena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Memorable food and service!”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay in Abingdon to see some plays at the Barter Theatre. Our innkeeper recommended this restaurant, and it was fantastic!! My husband had the 'spicy" Jambalaya, and he said it was the best he had ever had! I had the pork Jagerschnitzel and it was also wonderful! The owner is very personable and came and visited with us, and also checked with each table to make sure everything was O.K. with the food. The waitress was also friendly and very well-informed about the food and wine. Top-notch service and excellent food make it a "must do" whenever we are in Abingdon!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank starbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tavern also viewed

 

Been to The Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing