We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True microbrew, great beer and excellent setting!”

Wolf Hills Brewing Co.
Ranked #7 of 90 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: WOLF HILLS BREWING CO is a craft brewery located in historic Abingdon, Virginia. The brewery takes its name from the original appellation that Daniel Boone gave to the wilderness that became Abingdon. Tradition holds that Boone and his hunting companion spent a sleepless night along a hill on the Great Road after their dogs encountered a pack of wolves, which had a den in a nearby cave. Drawing from this rich history, Wolf Hills Brewing Co melds together time honored brewing methods using only the highest quality ingredients with modern beer styles inspired by the wide array of fragrant hops. Wolf Hills brews in small batches that are only distributed locally. The result is a level of fresh, savory beer that is unmatched in this region. Discover one of our many styles for yourself . . . you’ll be howling for more.
Restaurant details
Description: WOLF HILLS BREWING CO is a craft brewery located in historic Abingdon, Virginia. The brewery takes its name from the original appellation that Daniel Boone gave to the wilderness that became Abingdon. Tradition holds that Boone and his hunting companion spent a sleepless night along a hill on the Great Road after their dogs encountered a pack of wolves, which had a den in a nearby cave. Drawing from this rich history, Wolf Hills Brewing Co melds together time honored brewing methods using only the highest quality ingredients with modern beer styles inspired by the wide array of fragrant hops. Wolf Hills brews in small batches that are only distributed locally. The result is a level of fresh, savory beer that is unmatched in this region. Discover one of our many styles for yourself . . . you’ll be howling for more.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“True microbrew, great beer and excellent setting!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Growing like crazy, get on board when they are "small" so you can say you knew them when they were... With 10+ taps including some regulars, some seasonals, and a guarnteed unique casked ale, you'll find something or have a blast trying!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    29
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge,Louisiana
Level Contributor
379 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great brews”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were fortunate to be in town when they had a Saturday evening open house so were able to taste their brews and listen to some music. Great brews and can only hope they bottle at some point. Highly recommend you try their beers/ales!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Wolf Hills Brewery”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This little brewery is setup in an old abandoned looking barn. It is a great country atmosphere. I have been there several times and it seems as though each time is better. The first time I went it was just a bunch of boilers and fermenters in the back while they were finishing up building their bar in the front. The last time I went everything was finished and they even had a stage built for live music on nights when they are open. This place is much more than just a place to go try a beer or two. They have really developed well into a place where singles or large groups can go and generally have a good time. I have not witnessed it yet, but I have heard on the weekends this place gets very crowded and people are lined up out the door just to get a beer.
As for the beer itself, it seems to have matured in flavor over the years. As of now they have about 10-12 different beers available on tap (which for this sized brewing company is quite impressive). I have tried countless numbers of beer from other breweries and I would say if Wold Hills bottled, they would be able to sell very well to those around the country that don't drink Budlite. Their staple ber is their Trooper IPA, and I will say for a stronger IPA it is about average compared to most other IPA's. Very drinkable beer. It is considered a must try though because it seems to be so very popular. The best ratings I've heard for one of their beers is their black double IPA. I have not been fortunate enough to try it but I have only heard great things. My recommendations are their Belgian White, Chocolate Milk Stout (my favorite one I have ever had, much better IMO than left hand or duck rabbit), and the Barley wine. you probably won't hear many people talk about their Barley wine because it is tremendously strong and most people don't like that, but if you are in for a challenge or just generally like barley wine, I recommend this one strongly.
If you are into crowds i recommend getting there an hour and a half to two hours after they have opened, but if you are just there to try the beer, go in right when they open because they are not quite busy yet. The beer is not that expensive, I generally like to get their sampler flight of 5 6oz beers ($8) then afterwards just get a pint or two afterwards. Pints go for $4 for low gravity beers (less than 8% abv) and $5 for high gravity beers. Compared to bud and coors, this is quite expensive, yes, but if you have ever been to a bar with actual good beer, this is not that bad. Growlers are also available with very nice brewery etching for about 15 dollars and refills are about $10 depending on whether the beer is high gravity or not.
I am actually getting ready to go back today.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMcG_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Local Brewery”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a great time on Saturday afternoon visiting Wolf Hills after a ride on the Virginia Creeper Trail. Great atmosphere, friendly staff, and good band. You can sit at picnic tables inside or outside (right by the railroad tracks!) We particularly loved the Abingdon Abbey and brought a growler home with us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSL2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Level Contributor
109 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good brewery”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am an IPA fan, and this brewery had 2 good IPA's. this is a bar, where you stand up and can drink, at the bar. Or, you can sit at a picnic table and drink beer. They have food, but it is ordered I. From nearby restaurants, which works. Plus, they have lie mucic. What more can a beer lover want?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyclist76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolf Hills Brewing Co. also viewed

 

Been to Wolf Hills Brewing Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing