We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has Potential”
Review of 128 Pecan

128 Pecan
Ranked #1 of 90 Restaurants in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $16
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Abingdon, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Has Potential”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Food is very good but the two available wines are disappointing. Lunch is great but the restaurant is very small and during the good weather diners can be accommodated outside on the porch.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    131
    33
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meadowview, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Horrible”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The limited food selection was bland and distasteful. The service was almost non-existant. I had to resort to drinking my wife's water because I had none. The atmosphere was uninviting. I regret ever going there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, Owner at 128 Pecan, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Greetings from 128 Pecan,
At 128 Pecan we treat all reviews as positive and use them as tools to learn and better serve each customer.
We were saddened by your review and only wish you had made your concerns known during your visit, so that we could have made adjustments as necessary and worked even harder to make your experience a great one.
Best regards,
Jack Barrow
chef/owner
128 Pecan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“This is a winner!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great food at this small, unpretentious locally-owned and managed cafe. We had lunch the day before Thanksgiving and went back for dinner tonight. Fish tacos are great, and the tomato bisque is so rich it's like dessert. My husband said that the caesar salad was the best he's had in a long time. Tonight I had the rainbow trout with sauteed vegetables (zucchini) and it was melt in your mouth good. The owner and chef Jack is a local, and very engaging and experienced restauranteur. If you bring your own wine there is a corkage fee; the wine selection is ok but will not please some diners. So bring your own if you are concerned about the vintage! Also the service was really good, attentive, friendly. All in all this will be our go-to place for good grub when we're in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baltomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

We have been here numerous times and still we haven't been dissapointed. The Owner of the restaurant is always making sure that the service and food is the best.
Their soups are tasty And there ceasar salad is the best we have tasted ever!
Their trout specialty is Amazing!
You would not be dissapointed if you go there for either lunch or dinner. Their California chicken sandwich is very juicy.
Just go and give it a try, you will not regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coquies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wise, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Food, Great Service and Fair Prices”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had Salmon and Jerk Chicken as well as the local wine and beer. The food was incredible and the service from our waiter, Josh, was stellar. I would highly recommend swinging by the next time you are in Abingdon. 128 Pecan is down Street Light Three.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Callinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 128 Pecan also viewed

 

Been to 128 Pecan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing